Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Game of Endings

by Kain.Oborin - Jam Entry

I'm not sure how the mailing system works here but... Any questions or concerns can either be sent to me here (if that's possible) to my email at Kain.Oborin.business@gmail.com
This is my game. "The Game of Endings" it's far from complete, and I barely got any of the game play elements into it. But I did my best with the time I had so I'm satisfied.
If you reach the... "end" of the game, you can return to the menu by hitting Escape. That should open the menu.
While this game may just be a ghost of the shell of what I plan to make, I feel that I should give a little more introduction to it.
This game, is as the title suggests, about endings. Where you travel through the school as the player, and take control of several NPC's who each view the world differently, the choices you make and actions you take as these NPC's affect there perspective of the world, and the real world in addition. A path that is blocked from one perspective may be opened from another. That is the basic concept of this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1948Coolness22%

Comments

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

Tried to play since it said web, but I can not open an exe, maybe later on the windows computer

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11am

Ah yes. My apologies I've fixed it now. (So it's under the right catagory)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

Wow, 200 MB, and it's so short! -- Good audio, okay graphics, not really much game to play yet -- also LOTs of dialog (probably want to proof some of it since a lot of doesn't fit on the screen, or has silly errors like "roll" instead of "role", etc.)...

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24am

I did notice that in the last minute. I didn't really have much time to proof read unfortunately. I saw some of them, but some of them I just didn't have time to fix. And I thought it was VERY strange how big the file was compared to the length of the actual game. So you have my sympathies. I apologize for that.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:29am

This is a very pretty technical demo, but the repeated requests to ignore what has been done and rather rate you for what the game might have become seems rather unfair. Sure, it's a neat idea. You've also got really good sound and a well-established tone. However, the writing, which seems to be your selling point, could use a runthrough with an editor. Best of luck with the finished product!

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

I understand completely where you are coming from, I didn't mean that as a "rate me for the best case scenario", I meant that simply as a, simply take into consideration that this is far from the completed product. And I do agree with what you've said the spelling and grammar is pretty abhorrent. I have a bad habit of just typing things out, and watching for the red line. So I apologize for that. Also, the reason why the events repeat themselves, is because there was initially supposed to be 4 routes for this submission (the actual game would have had more). The first two routes would have been separate. Go to the Faculty or look around. And the endings of these choices would have led to different results in the next set of paths. But due to the time constraint, I only really managed to finish one, so it turned into a poor loop.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51pm

awesome idea and sound :) good work

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

I think you fell afoul of having goals larger than time could allow. The idea is a good one, but it might have been more manageable if you chose a single school scenario (like say, kids getting lunch at the cafeteria). And as with any dialogue-heavy game, proofreading is essential.

I appreciate the Persona influences, though.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I came here for the screenshot - artwork looks cool! :D To bad you don't have OS X version :(

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

I'm terribly sorry... yeah the program I used only works for windows...

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:58am

Interesting concept, it would be cool to develop it further.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I was very intrigued by your cover art and found myself kinda disapointed there wasn't that much to play. I know you didn't have the time but maybe you saw too big for Ludum Dare? Doing some kind of demo before even thinking of finishing the game might help ^^.

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:45pm

I actually had a limited plan for the 8 hours I could work on the game... To get a certain number of endings that would give the player a taste of what the game was like. However, even with that, I found myself severely lacking in time as the last hour rolled by. So I ended up just posting what I had, even though it wasn't much. I was kind of disappointed with the result. However, now that I know what to expect. I can book more time next time.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:56pm

The idea seems really interesting. A pity you couldn't finish it. I would have liked to play it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]