Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ghostly Worlds

by josh1billion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a buggy mess, but it was a fun little project.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1060Overall2.60
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

gwa says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice Game! And hard the Gosts always get me. Best level 3 ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51am

Haha it's quite addicting actually

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Randomly generated worlds caused a lot of bugs, but you did mention it was a little buggy (: good job.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Well you said it was buggy, so I expected a few problems. I really liked the sound, and the spotlight effect looked really good. That said, the ghosts are too passive for this to be terribly interesting. I know AI are tough as hell to do during a game jam, but a little bit more of a threat would have been nice. I like it overall.

parahunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Fun little game. I got stuck on one of the rocks though.

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Effects and gameplay ar funny. Dying when spawning isn't x)

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I like the way the main character bouncing around :-D

bobombe says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:21pm

The lights are awesome, but it's true that it is very buggy ^^

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:22pm

A little bit too random which sometimes makes it too easy and too challenging other times.. I like what you do have though. And the music seems to work with it well. Good effort for sure!

goerp says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Nice atmosphere created by the random-sounding-but-nice music combined with the lighting.

The randomness could use some tweaking, that there always is a solution and you don't die immediately, but still a nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]