Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Past Jumpgate

by Patrik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unfinished and half done.
Used tools:
- Game Maker 8.0
- GIMP

It's a RTS game.

- No sounds and music (yet).
- No enemy AI (enemy don't build or etc, only attack)
- Now the mission: destroy all enemyes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2027Coolness17%

Comments

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:26am

Great job! Thorough and a nice interface. I would have liked to upgrade buildings and unlock more units, and an enemy AI would add to the experience. I hope the team continues development on this project.

-@yonbeastie

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48am

This is fantastic! Great job making an RTS in 48 hours!
The only way you could improve is with audio and AI :)

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48am

Actually, I see that there are options for Audio, but I didn't have any sound :/

Patrik says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Thanks, guys! :) Yes, the sounds and the music are missing, unfortunately my friend didn't answer me during a day. Because of this I didn't have any time to do the music of the game. I had time just for the menu and I didn't want to insert only this. Probably I’ll carry on independently of the competition, with normal AI and other new things. I’m glad that you wrote. :)

Menu music:
https://soundcloud.com/kasza-patrik/past-jumpgate-title-loop

Patrik says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Probably I'll*
I'm glad*

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

An absolute joy to play. Great job getting this far in an RTS in just 48 hours. As others have already said, some audio and enemy AI would have made it even better, but with time constraints you've accomplished a lot! Would love to see further development on it.

alvarop says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

Nice RTS game for the time you had to make it. I wish there was a way to select multiple units at once.

Patrik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:54am

Thanks! :)
"to select multiple units at once" - it's in plan :) not problem ^^

Rothens says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:51am

Hey! At least another RTS idea :D I wasn't sure how the theme is connected, then I saw the info window. :P The only thing I found really annoying, that the workers only build around them. It'd be great to build to a specified location. Anyway, it's a good try, and I hope you'll continue. ;)

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Killed by mages whehe. Works well. Looks nice. Good job on this one.

Patrik says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Rothens: It's easy to do, if you click somewhere the workers don't build to a northern place by themselves. I couldn't do this, because I didn't have any time. Of course, the gameplay almost will be the same with Warcraft II. You will see some difference, it's not ready because I didn't have enough time. Thanks your comment!

DvanderAart: Thanks! :)

osthekake says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Shows a lot of potential, good work :)

Patrik says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Thanks! ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]