Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cross the Void

by DeathPidgeon - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare. I made a simple web based puzzle game where the player must create a continuous pathway between the starting and end points (denoted by boxes with dots in the middle of them). Players can only command boxes with arrows in them and only in the direction the arrow is pointing. There are 7 levels, the first levels are easy, but each level is harder than the one before.

This game features a hyper-minimal visual style. My goal was to make the graphics as simple as possible. Players are only encouraged to keep playing by a cordial "Good job" displayed at the completion of each level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#103Fun(Jam)3.58
#140Innovation(Jam)3.52
#268Overall(Jam)3.39
#551Mood(Jam)2.79
#558Theme(Jam)2.72
#600Graphics(Jam)2.84
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39am

Cool game, i like the gameplay. I want more levels! Would have loved a way to know witch block is connected or not. Keep up the good work.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Cool Game! I love how challenging and clever the puzzles are (from level 5 onward). I spent quite a while on level 6. I think I got stuck because I didn't realize you can push 3 boxes at a time unlike similar puzzle games (like sokoban).

I can definitely see it to be really nice on phone as a casual game with a little bit better graphics and music.

Also it wasn't really obvious that I won (didn't finish reading the descriptions) but yea it would be a nice little puzzle game and it matches the theme quite well.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Cool game, although I didn't really understand how to win. I still got to level 5 though. Graphics are nice

Leginar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55am

Really well done. A brilliant blend of simplicity and frustration.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25am

Well-polished, VERY suitable and appropriate graphics IMO. Only thing I might say that is remotely negative is that there was a sudden spike of difficulty between levels 5 and six. Other than that, liked the entry, pretty solid and stylish :)

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:28am

Good game, but It's a clone of a recent web game , isn't it?

Here , i found it: http://gameaboutsquares.com/

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29am

Simple and cool game , like the challenges good work

BitDemon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Nice simple looking game but its a lot of fun. Nice work

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Simple and cool game, and very hard after some levels (honestly the first very hard level was level 7, it made me suffer so long)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Hi there. Lovely puzzle. Nice minimal design. Found level 7 beyond my currently sleepy brain. Good job!

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Pretty fun game, I must say. I managed to get stuck on level 5. I feel like I am missing something, but I cannot manage to beat it (I tried so many times!) :) This might make a cool mobile game.

Homletmoo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Some really well designed levels - that last level in particular is fiendish (but I got there in the end).

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:23am

Great puzzler!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:40am

good leveldesign you could have fill the gap between lvl 4 & 5 with more easier level. I didnt find the solution or lvl 6.

jellonator says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:12am

The simplistic style is nice and it's a pretty cool game overall. The last level was pretty brutal, though.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:26pm

very nice minimalistic game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]