Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Earth <-> Krethys

by BethhhB - Jam Entry

Hey everyone!
This is our first Ludum Dare both individually and as a team! It was an intense learning process, but we're excited to show our work. In Earth<->Krethys you play as Kale, a man who can traverse two parallel worlds. Switch between Earth and Krethys to win!
Enjoy!
------------------------------------------------
Instructions:
-- Left-Arrow / Right-Arrow Keys, or "A" / "D" Keys for movement
-- Up-Arrow Key, or "W" Key to go through doors (be sure to grab the key!!)
-- Space to Jump
-- Shift to preview the other world, and Space to complete the "phase shift"
-- "R" Key to reset level
------------------------------------------------
Please Note:
A known bug exists in this version of the game, and it's nasty:
when the player shifts between worlds WHILE touching a wall (visible, or not), there is a good chance they will no longer be able to travel in whatever direction the wall used to be... (yikes!) Be careful out there! Unfortunately, we don't have old wise men in caves, distributing swords, warning of such dangers...

There are some other known issues, but that is the big one at the moment.
We appreciate your time, and any feedback you have to offer!
Thanks for playing!
------------------------------------------------
Contact info:

Bethany Barker
bethanybarker(at)hotmail(dot)com
@BethhhJB

Anthony Becker
abecker3(at)horizon(dot)csueastbay(dot)edu
@becker929

Nick Rebhun
nrfactor(at)gmail(dot)com
@nrfactor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#223Theme(Jam)3.51
#460Innovation(Jam)2.90
#476Audio(Jam)2.81
#514Humor(Jam)2.07
#546Graphics(Jam)2.95
#622Mood(Jam)2.60
#659Overall(Jam)2.77
#689Fun(Jam)2.38

Comments

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Usually "Web" refers to a webplayer, not a file download

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I like the art, make me think of day of the tentacle (not sure why ^^) !

I found some bugs, like the stone walls that do not disappear... did not notice this at first thaught that was part of gameplay... next time I tried the wall wasn't there any more.

I really enjoyed the audio, goes well with the world !

BethhhB says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Hey everyone! This is Nick (@nrfactor), lead programmer for Earth <-> Krethys.
Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

@everstone - Very true! I was concerned about that distinction, and I agree, but currently we don't have a server from which we can host our project. (We're between machines at the moment :/ )
In this particular case, we've provided a downloadable, offline-playable web version, but I agree that a web page would have been more ideal. Stuff we need to take into account, when distributing next time!

After some discussion, it looks like we're going to upload a build to Kongregate, for ease of use. Thanks for bringing this to our attention! The link to the web version of Earth<->Krethys will be taken down until we establish a working public link.

@Lvyn - Thank you! Our artist put a lot of blood, sweat, and tears into this project, and I think we're all stoked with what came out of it, particularly considering she typically works with 3D modeling, and has never done 2D or pixel-style art before!

I'll be sure to look into that bug! I think (and please correct me if I’m wrong) you may be referring to the second level, in which you (the player) are first introduced to the button/box mechanic. I don’t want to give too much away, but it is important to note that the buttons (currently) only remove components from the level, as long as they are being activated. That in mind, the fact that we don’t currently have artwork for Krethys walls may make some levels a little confusing. Definitely something we’re going to work on, if we take this project further.
We did end up with quite a few bugs by submission time, but that doesn’t mean we’re aware of all of them though. Thanks for bringing this to our attention!

When Anthony showed us the first original piece he composed for the game, I was blown away. His work is astounding and we’re all really proud of the music and audio effects! Thanks, again!

BethhhB says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

Fixed! The Web player is now hosted on Kongregate. Enjoy!

~ Anthony (@becker929)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31am

Very innovative! Like the concept

sorle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36am

I like the artwork, but i can not figure out what to do.
And the web version crashed my firefox one time :(

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:05am

I think I locked up the character's movement by shifting back and forth too many times.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09am

I got now data folder when downloading the linux version :(

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35am

Nice game guys! Cool concept. I like how you can preview the next world before 'jumping' into it.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:50am

Nice puzzle game mechanics. A bit buggy at the moment though, unfortunately. Sometimes some keys stop responding, and there is some occasional weirdness with collisions. Quite enjoyable once you figure out how it works though.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29am

tried web version; bugs at the begginning make it unplayable.
If I go to the left, my player gets stuck in place and can't move. If I go to the right, there's a wall, and, when I switch worlds, I still can't go past it.
Let me know if you fix this; I'll check it out then

BethhhB says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30am

Hey all!

I'm going to investigate the issues with the Linux build.
For now, I suggest our Linux users check out the web version of the game.

Sorry for any inconvenience!

- Nick
@nrfactor

BethhhB says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:28am

@blurryroots - Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I've rebuilt the game for Linux, and was careful to include all needed files. Please don't hesitate to let us know if you run into any additional issues!

@Miziziziz - Unfortunately, I haven't been able to replicate the issue you're having =[ Is it possible you're running into the newly-noted invisible perma-wall bug?

@tigerbyte - You may also have fallen victim to the invisi-perma-wall bug. Sorry about that!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

i really like the concept here but found the collision boxes and movement to be clunky which made gameplay undesirably difficult. Something to keep in mind next time.

AtomicVikings says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:22am

Nice game. Like the idea how it was made. :-) The collision detection is in some cases strange. On my Mac i had often problems to switch with the "shift" key. Maybe it is the fault of my Mac. In summary a nice game. I missed a bit the character animation. Really good entry. :-)

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:27am

Very interesting, I like how the jump triggered the switch. Graphics are nice overall, but I really found the color choice for the art just amazing - really great colors and went so well together!

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:35am

Conceptually, the game is very interesting. But it's also buggy and a bit confusing, so it took me a long time to figure out things, like what's the purpose of the box.
Is there any reason why the world switch stops the player mid-air? I think it would make the game much clearer, if the switch was smooth and the player would continue to fly as expected.
But other than that, great, also liked the graphics and audio.

hbocao says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:50am

I couldnt play! =/ Got stuck in a invisible wall, if I switch world I got stuck in the left side too! =/

Tanser says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:23am

Looks interesting though the art could be crisper. :)

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:40am

Nice game, but VERY frustrating. The control is too hard, my hand started hurting on the second level. The character should move faster and more freely and the transition between the two worlds should be made easier.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:19am

I like how you are able to preview the other world before you enter it, but I wish the controls were easier to use.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 11:01am

I got stuck in a wall, then I read the instructions about it :) You know you can fix those type of bugs post-compo, right? Then I was at the part with a wall made of two pieces of stone and couldn't figure out what to do next. Congrats on your first Ludum Dare entry! On a brighter note, the graphics and audio were cool, and the take on the theme was quite innovative. Well done!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice game you got there, reminded me a little of doctor jekyl and mr hyde on the old NES. Kinda buggy but you cant have em all in a jam now can you? Overall very fun game :)

Ramiel says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice concept. It's a bit irritating that you can stick to walls. I first was confused if that was intended or not. Then I figured out what I was supposed to do. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]