Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sara Space Rescue

by everystone - Jam Entry

Sara has been abducted to a distant planet, you must venture out and bring her back to earth. This is my first LudumDare, and first game I have ever released. Didn't quite get as many mechanics/features into the game that I planned, but had alot of fun making it, I will probably keep working on the game after the Jam.

I didn't have time to add sounds, and some gampeplay are missing --enemy AI is WIP and controlls aren't perfect.

Known bugs: Sometimes Rocket Parts gets thrown into orbit.. Entering/exiting Gravity fields may bug out, and Camera is not optimal. Have fun!

If you are lost in space, press esc to restart.

Collect fuel tanks to refuel your ship.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#324Humor(Jam)2.53
#359Innovation(Jam)3.09
#472Theme(Jam)2.97
#565Fun(Jam)2.71
#577Mood(Jam)2.72
#592Overall(Jam)2.91
#632Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02pm

That's so cool! Love the gravity and the rocket controls!

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Thanks alot man! that means alot, its the first feedback I have gotten :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Cool space game, this reminded me a little bit about kerbal space program, minus the building ofc. A few things annoyed me though, mainly the clouds that sometimes cover your entire screen randomly and the in-abillity to rotate the camera. But all in all its an entry that is worth while to check out!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Hahahahahahah I did as I was told and got David Bowie's space oddity on spotify (Worked well)
Not sure if it was the song or the little guy you play as but I found my self with a big smile on my face XD

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Hahaha, awesome man, Cheers!

everystone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Windmill: I appreciate the honest feedback, i know the camera sucks, I didnt have time to fix it. Thanks

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:58am

I SAVED SPACEWOMAN!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51pm

the rocket is awesome the camera could be hat some more work but overal a lovly game

fun and humor 5 stars.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:53pm

The game looks interesting but I have not come to understand it completely, anyway I like how it looks

rjhelms says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:04pm

The 60 second countdown after leaving a ship is pretty unforgiving - I got lost on a planet a few times and died just trying to find my way back to the ship.

There's a lot of potential here, and this is a great start - would love to see what you can do with some more time on it!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:04pm

It's cool to jump into the rocket and try to find Sarah but it's very hard to handle and we're very low on resources!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:09am

A bit confusing, but enjoyable!

everystone says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

Thanks alot for the kind words people! It makes it all worth it. I know its not balanced atm ( camera, controlls, handling ), but I plan to polish it and build upon this in the future.

gene-z says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:11am

Very good game, keep good work... :-)

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

love the rocket graphic and pixel fire

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice idea!
I took some time to learn how the spaceship work and more time to can get the controls, but after that was ok to play.
It was a difficult game and the objective was blur to me.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Haha, great work. I'm liking the planet exploration themes I'm seeing.

Citsua says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Really clever concept, but the controls were a bit hard to use. The camera was quite annoying too, as were the clouds which blocked the view.
Despite these problems, it's a very enjoyable game :).

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:56am

Congrats on your first game ever release! Hope you keep improving your skills and developing new games. Well done!

Yword says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice try for your first LD! But I think it is not so easy to navigate throughout the space, maybe you can add a map or compass. Well done!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Nice graphics, cool game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3H1YVzN-nuA

sephyka says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:15am

Poetic entry. It's so cool to jump into a rocket. :)
I think the camera is a bit confusing, I wasn't able to control the rocket properly.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Shame there's no sound and the rocket is actually pretty hard to control but the gameplay idea is pretty interesting with lots of potential. Not bad for your first entry I say :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]