Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inbetween Lands of Grass

by From Smiling - 48 Hour Compo Entry


Movement - ARROW KEYS
To Box Storage - R

[ Inbetween a Land of Grass ]

A small earthquake has shaken up the area around VALLEY 8 & VALLEY 7!
All of their boxes are mixed up. They could use some help!
Also this one person broke a lot of glass somehow?


This is a complete game, it's just pretty tough~! You can win, it is possible!
` u')b Just remember the theme and then tinker a bunch!
I suggest getting a pen and paper or using screenshots.

-The Box Storage is IMPORTANT
-Really try to remember the theme
-Mess around with all of the rooms, not just two!

Thanks for playing and any feedback!
This is my first Ludum Dare.
It was a lot of fun!
' u '

- Taylor (@fromsmiling)

Game was made in Unity (Free) without any libraries.
Art was made in Pyxel Edit!

Downloads and Links




tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:56am

Great use of the concept.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00am

Amazing art. This is a really nice game. Good job!

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nice Job, I really like the pixel art in this one :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

I like the graphics, but I can't seem to do anything? Are you meant to be able to move boxes between areas somehow? I think I managed to get a letter into the letter box but it exploded.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:08am

I'm stuck :( ...I think... the graphical style is really sweet though! Congratulations with your first LD :)

nxT says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

Really tricky - it looks great!

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30am

Oh that is really neat! And super cute!
I really like how our friendly protagonist appears to be hopping from foot to foot.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

Graphics look sweet as hell. Well done for your first Ludumdare, well done indeed.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Adorable graphics. But I got really stuck... maybe give us more hint ?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:33am

Beautiful art and great job on first entry. The colours used set the mood really well but did find the text difficult to read at times

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Wow, amazing art style! Looks really great and is fun to play.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Graphics are very nice, great work.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Great visual style. Managed to loosely figure out how to change things, but didn't get much further after that.

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Wasn't quite sure how to beat the game but I loved the art style!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Loved the graphics and overall aesthetic.
I thought that I figured out the main mechanic
but couldn't quite figure out why some boxes
vanished while others turned into trees.
I restarted the game a few times but couldn't manage
to create a free path to complete it.
The real fun for me was actually to try and figure out the secret behind the game's mechanic, it was like solving a really good puzzle / riddle.

ehtd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Beautiful graphics. It will be nice a way to move between areas without having to walk.

saampahlavan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27am

great visuals, but not enough feedback to understand what's going on.

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

I couldn't move any boxes into storage, they just got stuck at the exit. But graphics 5 stars!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Looks great, but I couldn't figure out what to do at all after about 10 minutes of running around. Sound/music would have been nice too.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Very pretty game. Can't figure out what to do tho. :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:26am

Beautiful graphics... I could get somewhere, but I just couldn't figure out what was supposed to go where, or really determine how I was influencing the scenes. I think a game with more stages or something might have worked better... as-is I felt like there was a solution, but that I was being punished for not wanting to sit down and go through the tedium of graph paper. Plus, any time I managed to do anything, it would all reset... !! It was just a bit too much.

Thank you for the game! I'm looking forward to seeing you next Ludum Dare :]

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Thank you for your entry, but somehow I didn't get through. Your graphics are very nice.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Art is amazing! really warm colors

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

At first I was super confused... then after reading through the comments I thought I figured out what to do, but couldn't get it to work predictably. You have guts for making such a difficult mechanic, which I both love and hate you for. The art is top notch, but some music would've helped a lot. I really wanted to help those people... :'(

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Pretty confusing. I felt like I was beginning to understand but then something would work differently! Still, I had fun exploring the world! Beautiful graphics and great mood.

Praron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:39am

I don't know how to play in this, but nice graphic and really good game. But font is not very good, hard to read D:

nesis says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Great idea for a game mechanic. Very nice graphics, especially the colour palette and character design.

A later version would benefit from a more direct demonstration of how the box room affects the outside world. One way this could be done is by starting the player off with a much simpler level (one box room, one outside area, with limited kinds of boxes and obstacles), then gradually introducing more kinds of boxes and obstacles to accentuate their difference from the previously known ones.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:56am

Well, don't know what to do!

01010111 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Wasn't really sure how to work things, but I love the art! Amazing job with the characters!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Brilliant game. Understanding the mechanics was a true challenge, after exploring for half an hour I began to understand how it worked and after another 15 min. I fully understood the mechanics. A very well tought game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]