Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Phil and Charlie's Adventure

by LesInk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Phil and Charlie are having a very strange adventure through time and space. Use the arrow keys to move Phil. Space bar for dialog.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Humor3.45
#554Theme3.26
#766Mood2.75
#847Overall2.92
#904Fun2.63
#992Innovation2.50
#1037Graphics2.29
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:07am

Nice little game. As far as I can see it's only a small loop?

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08am

Don't ever mess with time travel !!! Nicely done, by the way. Simple small adventure. I wanted to what would come next, so objective achieved.Graphics do the job. Lacks of sound.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:51am

haha, nice idea. compact and funny

Demorro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:02am

Awesome idea! Wished something had happened the second way round the loop, but I guess that only means that you got me immersed. I'm pretty blown away by how creative you managed to be with this in just 4 screen, good job man.

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:05am

I really enjoyed this! Simple, effective, and I played through it like 5 times before I realized I was a giant idiot! Characters got me to like them and everything. Pleasantly surprised by my enjoyment of this game even in its simplicity.

moses102 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Great game, time travel is a great way to do connected worlds

smizmeal says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:22am

Haha, the falling through space is the best part :)

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

Poor Phil, he is trapped in an infinitely looping world. haha nice little game entry. I enjoyed it. Those darn bats kept getting me but I finally past them. I like how the game loops and loops. I think thats a nice little touch. Good entry and nice game! :)

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Glad you got this game working. It's short though, unless someone wouldn't notice the loop, heh!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Haha, that was a neat game. Aesthetically it didn't shine, but the core idea was great. Loved that bird.

SelfishGenome says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Cool idea, nice sense of humour with the parrot and the naivety. Graphics did hurt my eyes a bit going through the bat caves with all the movement.

jahmaican says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I find this one a lil bit strange. It's just a very short loop, with not so good graphics, and if you want dynamic gameplay like with bats, I think collision detection should be much more precise.

But then, it's a compo entry and you made something that works!

shashwat says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Nice game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]