Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shadow of a Thought

by Docjekyll - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Title: Shadow of a Thought

Description: A point-and-click defense game where you try to stop the forces of darkness from invading our world.

Controls: Point and click. Simple! Hold left click to continue firing.

Features:
- dynamic "threat" system that manages enemy spawns in order to create challenging moments for the player
- 2 short music tracks built from scratch during the 48 hours
- original unicorn art with super awesome animated rainbow mane (trust me, I'm a pro)

Tech:
- Flash (AS3) (with GreenSock and MonsterDebugger)
- Flash CS4, Flash Builder 4.6
- Photoshop, Illustrator, GIMP
- FL Studio 9

----------
UPDATE
(14-08-24,22:10CST): File now hosted, so you don't have to go to Github any more.
(14-08-25,21:05CST): Added new screenshot.
(14-08-26,14:00CST): Added link to game on GameJolt.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#31Audio3.94
#113Humor3.30
#151Mood3.53
#164Fun3.57
#208Graphics3.70
#308Overall3.46
#704Innovation2.97
#755Theme2.95

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:39am

Wow. I absolutely adore this game, and it is my pick to win so far. Everything is so polished and put together perfectly. The music is incredible, the animations, the art, I love it all! Games like this are what the Ludum Dare is all about for me.

Kuupu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

It is indeed well polished. The game pace is quite amusing. I loved the soundtracks.
Very nice work, congratulations.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great Idea! The gampeplay is pretty simple but is solid. Congratulations.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12am

It went absolutly fine until, it began coming fro all sides at once! And fast! Cheat! Still rate ya 5 starts though! :3

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38am

Thanks for the feedback so far, everyone :-D

The game is indeed difficult (I don't like easy games!), but definitely winnable. There are 7 levels and the last one has a bit of extra evilness in the enemy attack patterns.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45am

Really liked the theme -- something other than shooting evil aliens with spaceships. Same mechanics but a different experience. Nice!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:33am

The art was a little bland, but it was enjoyable to play. The movement of the pony around the crib was a little odd, but it made the game a little more challenging.

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

Shooting lucky charms never felt better!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

Simple and clean. The difficulty ramps nicely.

jormungandr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37am

The game bugged out a couple of times, and I could only have 1 bullet on the screen at once

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40am

Having the unicorn move around randomly made this an interesting little shooter. Really nice-looking shadow sprites, too.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59am

I always enjoying seeing overtly feminine things in action games. Music was catchy too!

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40am

@Danman9914 if I had realized they looked like lucky charms, I'd have made a full set of them :-D
@kirbytails7 thanks! that comment means a lot, since that was one of the main things I focused on
@jorumungandr I'm sorry to hear that! I'd really like to know what caused that :-/
@Lissar thanks! there was a bit of truth the in the game flavor text about liking the rainbow mane a little too much :-P

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice style, maybe it could work with shooting sound being in chord with music?

It did lag terribly on my mac (chrome).

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Lovely and cute ;3.
(Found it using GJ newly added).

poojaPiqora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Good work !! I rate it as 5 for 48 hours work

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:00pm

very nice, really well put together

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Cute game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/LbmZDYffwi8

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Great presentation really felt slick to play as well.

Good job

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:20am

Part 9 take two - Now with sound - http://youtu.be/lmQkJ525PNo

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21am

Very well polished, solid and fun.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:59am

OMG fantastic! Great job man it was very fun to play! It got more and more challenging. Great music, atmosphere, and art. 5 stars.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

Interesting game concept and I really liked the audio. I wish the game got harder faster and that there was more to the game then just dragging your mouse to where the monsters were. This game definitely has potential of getting better though. Good job! :D

LTPATS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:11am

Nice music and atmosphere. The gameplay felt a little repetitive to me at times, though. Overall it's well polished, great job!

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:54am

nice xD

IamAcoconut says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Good game. The music and graphics were pretty good. I didn't like how the unicorn slowly moved around he crib, though it did make the game more challenging.

Sestren says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

The music was awesome, and the graphics were cute and fun. Great entry!

Knowledge says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Cool game.

uberscientist says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:20am

I liked the unicorn :)

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Well, I made it to the sixth night, surely that at least annoyed the shadow lord, even if it wasn't enough to stop him! Nice aesthetic, but the gameplay could've used a bit more "something". Maybe the unicorn could have overheated (unicorns overheat right?) or have had a charge shot. Fine compo entry in any case!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

pjchardt says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Nice game :) The game has loads of charm and the music fits great. The difficulty curve felt really nice. The biggest drawback for me was that after about 5 levels I started to get a bit board as nothing new was being introduced.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]