Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Amphibian

by ConciseBit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The life of An Amphibian.

This is a very raw ga... I'm not even sure if it would be called a game.
Since it's my first LD, I decided to submit it anyways for the sake of completeness.
Thank you.

[Controls] Arrow keys for control

*p/s: Workaround for web users having troubles with the game inputs:
[Firefox] Right Click on the Game -> "This Frame" -> "Open Frame in New Tab / Window"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#217Mood3.42
#282Audio3.19
#435Graphics3.26
#855Innovation2.77
#1040Theme2.38
#1093Overall2.54
#1128Fun2.13
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

Love the artwork and the transition to an adult, cool idea!

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Slightly raw game indeed, but mood was perfect. I liked swimming around there :)

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Well, theres something :)
I don't get the transions to an adult Seraphic had. I used the jar version

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

The artwork is really nice. It would make a nice live wallpaper. and the music is nice too.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Very nice start of something. Unless I missed something you can grow up, look outside but that's it?

Also, thanks for adding the Java runtime!

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:01pm

@Reyn: well it takes some time for the metamorphosis to happen :p

@Endurion: Yes that's all to it for now. I have a vision of an amphibian, slowly growing into different forms as time passes by, exploring whole new worlds with newly gained abilities. That moment when he breaks the egg membrane, or leaving water for the first time! Or, he, unfortunately, falls into a well forever while wandering. Or maybe, one day, he jumps on an eagle to explore the sky!

@LD Community: Each and everyone of you are so awesome! Honestly, this LD was a total failure for me, yet you guys can still come up with positive feedback! This really means a lot to me and I really appreciate it. This is what motivates me to continue, and I'm sure I could only do better nextime! See you at next LD!
All the best and cheers!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:36am

How to control?

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:48pm

@yodamaster: Use arrow keys to control. If you use the web version, make sure the embedded html has the input focus

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:26am

Interesting little game you have here, definitely raw though. In the web version movement and transformation wasn't working, so I had to download the .jar file.

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:21am

It's a shame you didn't have time to finish this; it seems quite interesting! I like the idea of transitioning towards land through that sunbeam.

Tom 7 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:27am

I want to go outsideeeee! :)

The pixel graphics are pretty good, actually. Web versions didn't work for me in Chrome or Firefox (never accepted keys) but the jar was A-OK.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:12am

Good start. Music definitely matched the vibe :)

ConciseBit says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Thanks for the motivation guys! I will make sure I plan better for the next LD :)

*p/s: Workaround for web users having troubles with the game inputs:
[Firefox] Right Click on the Game -> "This Frame" -> "Open Frame in New Tab / Window"

That is due to the game embedded in the iframe of the site and interfering with the inputs.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:03pm

To bad it wasn't finished. Still quite impressive art/music wise.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:47am

Nice, keep working to set gameplay : D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]