Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blobs RPG

by Kalman90Grape - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my first Ludum Dare ever, and this game is my first "released" game ever.

This is a little RPG where you help people, and worlds are joined by Warps, and by the actions of the blobs in them.

WASD to move, Spacebar to Slime-Shoot.

I know it's super short, not really much of an "RPG", and I probably filled out the Submit form wrong somehow, but I had fun making it (I got about 15 hours of work into it), so I'm happy. Just download the zip, extract it to a folder, and run the run.bat. Source code is also in the zip file. Written in Java, so it should run on any computer with Java installed, and all graphics by me.

Note: There is a bug when you choose to try again that causes strange things to happen. It is advised that if you die you just close the game and start it again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2027Coolness17%

Comments

leDragoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I get "java is not recognized" when I try to run the game

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

I don't know if this is a bug, but the range of the slime shots is incredibly small.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

also does not work on mine

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49pm

IeDragoon, you have to have Java installed on your computer to play this, from that error message it sounds like you don't. Go here to get it:

http://java.com/en/download/

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Ohems: You can only have one Slime shot "active" at a time. So if one is flying, and you press space, the one currently out gets deleted and a new one is fired. So just don't hold space or tap it too fast.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Fanttum: Not sure which part you meant did not work, but I just answered both problems so hopefully you can fix it.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Chrome recognised this as malicious

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Yay, sardines! :D
I liked the game, great work - especially if this is your first released ever! :)

DarkCart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Chrome won't let me download this.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Not that bad for a first entry, even if the levels were rather simple. It could use some puzzles :)

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Jaenis: Thank you so much! I'm glad to hear someone thinks it's okay. I am definitely entering the next Ludum Dare, at which point I should have more Java experience (And more free time, I hope), and thus should be able to create a better game.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

nerd burglars: If Chrome thinks this isn't safe, well, I can't really help you, sorry. All I can say is that I don't use Chrome, I use Mozilla Firefox, where it works fine.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

DarkCart: As with nerd burglars, I can't really help you. Try a different browser is all I can suggest, but I do promise there is nothing malicious in this game (Besides spikes).

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Dook: Thanks, you're awesome. As I was saying to Jaenis, I should have more experience, and hopefully free time (As the post says, I was only able to work about 15 out of 48 hours of the competition) next time around, and thus should be able to incorporate more into my next game. In the beginning I was hoping to have enemies to fight, puzzles etc. in this one, but I was not able to. Thanks for trying this out!

gene-z says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

I can´t play, update the archive

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

@gene-z, I'm not sure what you mean. Did you extract the files from the zip before running the game?

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Please change web to the system you are using, because it cannot be played using a web browser. By the way, congrats on your first Ludum Dare!

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice game ! i don't know how one can die ! i think there was a bug at the last level all traps and swords disappeared when talking to the first blob ! Nice first game anyway !

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:26am

@jukimv1986 Oh thanks, I didn't realize you could change the name to whatever you wanted. I updated it now.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:31am

@GuillaumeGwi Thanks! And actually, that was a semi-bug. I meant for all the traps to disappear and for the knight to be replaced with the boy. The bug was that the game did not explain why this happened. When you touch the Little Old Bloby at that point, she's supposed to say "I did appreciate your help earlier. Allow me to help you now.", but for some reason the message doesn't show up, and I wrote that part last minute and didn't have time to fix it. So that stuff is supposed to happen, the bug just makes it to where you think that was a bug... if that makes sense.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:06pm

No glitches or bugs found and had some fun playing. The puzzles could have been a bit more challenging. Still good job for this LD48 entry

Kalman90Grape says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:27pm

@DvanderAart Thanks!

DesignerNap says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I get "java is not recognized" when I run the file. Shame as this looks fun.

Wertle says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Nice job on your first ever Ludum Dare! A few things that might help for future games - when you make anything with a top-down movement that has shooting, i'd recommend making the player shape something where it's easy to see what your facing is at a glance. It was a little tricky with the round blobby. I liked how giving that guy the sword came back around in a way I was not expecting later on. Hopefully this gives you a good basis for figuring out scope in future jams. Good job!

Kalman90Grape says ...
Sep 17, 2014 @ 12:37am

DesignerNap: Are you sure that you have Java installed? As far as I know if you do you should never get that message.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Sep 17, 2014 @ 12:41am

@Wertle Thanks for the awesome feedback, it really does mean a lot to me, knowing that some people think I did okay.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]