Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bidimensional Landscaping

by adharris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD Submission. It's a score-attack puzzler where you control two instances of the game at a
time.

You play as Kent, the bi-dimensional landscaper. He exists in two dimensions
at once, and is expected to build beautiful towns in both.

## How to play

Control Kent With WSAD or the arrow keys, and place the current item with
space.

Items placed in the world are awarded Aesthetic points based on what is in the
tiles to the north, south, east, and west of them, according to the following
rules:

* Trees get 1 point for every adjacent tree.
* Paths get 1 point for every adjacent path.
* Houses get 1 point for every adjacent path or tree, but lose one point for an adjacent house.

The goal is to maximize your points across both towns. There isn't a formal
end/lose condition, but eventually you will trap Kent with trees or houses, so
let's call that the end.


## About

This is my first #LD48, as well as my first released "game". As such, I stuck
with what I know, which is web development.

As such, everything here is HTML and pngs (no svg, no canvas). I used AngularJS
for the javascript.

I only really tested this in Chrome.

## Things I Didn't Get To

I had planned for more items, (i.e. signpost which gets bonus for being at a
forking path, flowers placed at the base of trees, wells in path intersections,
etc) but ran out of time. Much of the logic for adding multiple items to the
same cell is in place, I was just missing the sprites and the scoring logic.

Originally, my goal was to have more than 2 towns. There would be a limit to
the number of active towns you could have, and a town would be removed when
it got a certain number of points. The goal would be to get a high score in few
moves so you could keep the number of villages down. There were far too few
hours to do this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Innovation4.27
#40Theme4.08
#204Overall3.58
#327Fun3.31
#676Graphics2.92
#700Mood2.82
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

I like puzzles generally, and I enjoyed this one aswell!

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Brilliant.. One of the best ideas for the "Connected Worlds" theme. Very nice.
A lot of stares from me. :)

eyeofbri says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

This game rules. Simple, yet really satisfying game mechanic. Perfectly fits the theme too!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

5 stars for innovation, well done

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Got a 42 and 79. Would have been a lot better had I figured out sooner how to split the Kents up. Not to mention that built myself into a corner on the lower one. I know the score could be a lot higher, but have to come back. More games to rate! this was great and one of the best themes so far. Can't get more connected than that. Only down side is lack of audio.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really brain-twisting puzzle! Nice job!

fauge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:59am

very simple yet great puzzle! graphics seemed to match the theme of the game very well!

colludium says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:30am

Awesome game - very well done!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:06am

Very original idea, I liked this one a lot!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:27am

Congrats on your first entry to a Ludum Dare! Its mechanics are simple yet extremely clever. Not an easy feat to balance both worlds aesthetics. Well done!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:58am

A fine concept for a game, and well designed! Good job keeping the first part of the queue matched up, then switching it later. If you expand the project (and I think you should), consider coming up with ways that the gardener can modify the queue, or have additional trade-offs that aren't just based on points. Good compo!

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:06am

My favorite take on the connected worlds theme so far! The different queues of items for each world, the ability to have the two players get out of sync with their locations, and the need to maintain a path for the players to be able to walk around on made this a really challenging, and interesting puzzle game. Thanks for sharing!

tcarter says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:07am

Clean and simple. Very nice! When portraying people from above, it's usually nice to show the side-view as you've done for the houses and trees.

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:11am

Got 125-100 :). Great idea, really enjoyed it.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:34am

Very innovative, you should continue working on this.

Endurion says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:13am

Can't vote as no keypresses seem to register. Using IE 11.

micahcowan says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Really cool idea! Nice interpretation of the theme.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Same as @Endurion :/

No keypresses are registering. Using Firefox 31

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:17pm

@Endurion

Try using Google Chrome. It's working for me in Chrome.

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I got 93 and 49 before I couldn't do anytinhg else. in one world I was stuck, in the other I only had houses in spaces all next to houses.

5 stars! The graphics were simplistic, but nice. The theme was brilliantly implemented, and this kind of optimization puzzle is REALLY innovative. Congrats for thinking this up! It was really compelling, and I played the whole thing through, totally concentrated. 5/5, 10/10, 9001/9000, any way you measure it, awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]