Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Attack!

by DarkCart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Prevent the robots from going on the street... or else!

Space - Kills Robot
Arrow Keys - Move

If you run this game from the console (java -jar RobotAttack.jar) you can see the number of robots killed go up every time you kill one.

EDIT: Please rate Version 1.1, as this has actual gameplay.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#430Humor2.52
#973Audio1.57
#1099Mood1.97
#1135Graphics2.05
#1173Theme1.74
#1181Fun1.90
#1195Innovation1.70
#1217Overall2.02

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Null pointer when I attempt to run the game. It provides no real information (Beyond it being a jarinjarloader/packaging issue).

DarkCart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13pm

You have to extract the map.d as well as all the png files. Does this help? You can't just extract the JAR

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I fixed the bug @uprightpath was having. Just had to mess around with the manifest

Gaeel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I got a VERY low framerate (one frame per second) I don't know if that's normal...

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04pm

What? Oh, it's tile-based movement. The player only moves one tile at a time.

granut100 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice little game :) I think I encountered a bug the score would just stay at zero.

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Well I tried the game. I am not quite sure of the interpretation of the theme in all honesty. But it looked quite interesting so I tried it.

At first I didn't understand why I don't move fluidly then I read your comment. After that I started spamming movement and suddenly I jumped to the bottom of the screen right from its top. So I stopped spamming directions and started pressing 1 per second.

I noticed then a bug, if you stand where you are and just spam space it kills the robots automatically you don't to move even.

granut100 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Sorry nevermind, I read the description

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Love It, Nice Casual Game, When Bored.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37pm

My interpretation was humans (Earth) vs. Robots (Some distant planet, not discovered yet). I probably should fix the robot bug, shouldn't I?

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Should I be regretting not making this an Applet?

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Pretty cool! Reminds me alot of Robotz by GameGrape Studios: http://www.gamegrapestudios.blogspot.com. One thing I would do is make everything bigger so it's easier to see everything. Well done! :D

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Thanks :)

StMatn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Nice idea.
Please put some info in your description, which version to rate. I rated 1.1, because 1.0 seemed to have no gameplay.
Keeping the spacebar presed constantly raised my score and I got an "ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsExcepion: -1" at TerrainLoader.java at line 54, after letting a robot through (Loose screen apeared nevertheless).
Keep it up!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Somewhat loose interpretation of the theme and gameplay was pretty buggy (there seems to be no indication of the player actually attacking and like most other people have said, you can just spam space and the robot gets killed no matter where it's at plus there was no way to restart the game other than closing and reopening it) but it's a somewhat ok game.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I like the minimalistic mechanics. Just punch a bunch of robots who dare to cross my road =P
Your source is also very consice and focues. I like how you defined your map =P If you place some roads in the middle of the play field, the will just stop moving. I guess they are happy to finally have some piece of road for themselves =P

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Not sure why all the negative comments on here. I did run into any bugs and I thought this game was fun! Good luck :)

cudabear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

Clever little game. I enjoyed stopping the robots from getting across the map. However, I'm pretty sure I could just attack from any distance away. The controls also seemed pretty slow to respond.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:37am

This was very hard to play and couldn't figure out what to do - pressed down and found myself on the right edge of the screen.

whalebot says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:29pm

So I realized that just hitting space kills the robot (I don't have to be next to the robot). Just about broke my space bar I spammed it so hard :D

DarkCart says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:43am

It's a pretty bad bug, but it is fun seeing the number of robots killed going up so fast... :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Poor robots, they only wanted to cross the road!!. Try to increase difficulty (i.e. put some robots attacking at the same time), score and lives system and you'll have it. Good work...

DarkCart says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Adding more than one robot would make the game's code more complicated than it should be, but thanks for the suggestion!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I don't understand why everybody is spamming spacebar, when you just as well can simply hold it down ;)

It sure is a nice concept, but at its current state with all its bugs, it can hardly be considered a game. But keep practicing and I'm sure next LudumDare you will be able to create a finished game^^

DarkCart says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Well, thanks anyway.

Tosic says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Very slow and hard to control, I could simply click SPACE and it kills a robot no matter where it is, and no sounds, it is a decent game, but you should practice your skills you will get better...

DarkCart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Thank you, ever since I submitted the game, I've been working on my skills, so (hopefully) my next entry will be better. To be honest, I'm not really into this theme, so that could have affected my performance :).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]