Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Lives

by InfamousIntellectual - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry! I originally planned for the game to be a lot bigger, but I grossly underestimated the amount of time that it all took.
For more of my Art go to denisdraws.tumblr.com or denisdevelops.tumblr.com for my game development blog!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#436Humor2.50
#615Graphics3.00
#674Theme3.10
#755Mood2.76
#1029Innovation2.42
#1105Fun2.23
#1133Overall2.44

Comments

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

The idea is fun! Would love to see where you would go with it if you had more time.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48pm

It was like a window into my life haha. Decent concept shame you didn't get enough time. Item's seem to be unlimited managed to use the lime juice a huge amount of times. HP ++ :)

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Great concept! I want to spend all day playing games.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I really like this concept. A shame that it doesn't contain anything more at this stage. Keep it up ^^

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Nice concept, I could just attack to win everything though and that was a bit of an pity.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Fine art. I like it!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Hi there. Would be good to have instructions and clearer choices, found it difficult to tinker with to learn how to play. Shame no sound.

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:42am

An RPG, even just an RPG battle system, is incredibly difficult to do in 48 hours. Kudos for putting something workable together. Unfortunately there wasn't much else to comment on other than the very lovely art. Very nice use of color.

bluewizard says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Really wish there was an option in ludum dare to expand the time limit a week so creative guys like you could make better games, the game was good though for an ld -48 :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Congrats on your first entry! I enjoyed it as despite being short at least it was playable. And it reminded me about my life, shouldn't stay all day long inside playing video games. Very imaginative and interesting take on the theme. Keep up the good work!

fauge says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Great game, unfinished but looks amazing and has potential, I would keep developing the game

deepnight says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:36am

I wish it was longer :) Very frustrating! The wake up would deserver a little more polish, for example explaining what was his dream about.

That's a nice job as a 1st LD entry, welcome abroad! :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Well done! A little bit short rpg with a nice concept and lot to be done.

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:52pm

The game was okay, but I thought it could've done better if it was a platformer or something. I tend to not like those types of games where you barely contribute to the action and it just tells a story.

Hexadecima1 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:41am

This game made me think. I liked it. I have nothing else to say that everyone else didn't already. (also I'm the guy who wrote a poem about your game for poemsaboutgames)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]