Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Packet Router

by threefinnsjim2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Blurb (originally!)
You play a router receiving packets from connected peers. Your goal is to send them in the best direction to make their destination. Only problem is that you don't know the shape of the network except what incoming packets tell you.

Quickly route packets the right way to build up info about the network. Deal with changes of information and network outages. You play the algorithm!

The Idea

Took the theme of connected worlds and thought about the packet switching/routing algorithms that my very basic understanding and study of networks helped me to understand.

The Actual Implementation

VERY MUCH less than what I planned. Turns out not having ever written a game before that there is a lot to learn. It's possibly the worst code I have ever turned out, but conversely some of the most fun I have had writing it!

Spent a lot of time drawing boxes, getting them to bounce. There is a very basic game there - when the router has too many packets it will fail (about 40 or so).

WORKS IN MY VERSION OF CHROME

And apologies for the use of unfriendly colours

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#520Innovation3.20
#595Theme3.21
#1101Mood1.94
#1161Fun2.00
#1192Graphics1.71
#1207Overall2.08
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09am

the game is a little bit hard to understand but at the end it is a good game even do it has no art syle.

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

Nice interpretation of the theme :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:10am

Man this is difficult >.< Good concept though, I like the idea behind it.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Very easy to play if you mash the keys, should probably fix that later or something. Good game though, love to see what you could add to it.

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

I don't think I was a very good router, just sending packets wherever to get them off my plate seemed to work fine, leaving people with presumably ~75% packet loss.

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35am

I would like to see what it could have been if finished, but I don't get the game. Do I have to eliminate all the packets because those are lost packets? (Without doing anything at all, I'm getting a pretty good score, that made me laugh :D)

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I like the idea, but I couldn't quite figure out what to do?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I'm a little confused... but I may just be stupid. I did manage to get my packets fairly stable, but didn't quite understand why.

ripter says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:45am

You should identify on the title screen that you need to press a key to start. I really like the idea how it was explained in the description, but couldn't figure out the game as you implemented it.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:46am

I don't really understand the game, I just press the keys periodically and I never die :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

Hi there. Looks interesting, nice idea too. Shame no sound. Could not understand what to do at all... instructions necessary. Neither mouse clicks nor keys seemed to do anything.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]