Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Makers Hand

by coffeemuggames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The apocalypse is near!
Guide your people to obtain ressources. Build houses and most importantly - that tower to the sky out of pure gold!
Connect our world with the god's world!

Your last chance to escape the apocalypse - you've got 5 minutes!

Have fun ;)

____

If you have trouble running it, take the Java 7 JAR Version! It should work for everyone, even with an outdated version of java :) But please update your Java!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#300Humor2.79
#491Audio2.80
#534Mood3.00
#556Fun3.05
#709Overall3.06
#743Theme2.98
#773Innovation2.86
#940Graphics2.48

Comments

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35am

Can't open it..I can only listen the music and it's kinda creepy

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44am

You should have used ImageIO.read + Main.class.getResourceAsStream instead of Toolkit.
Compiled from source ;)

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46am

Music is kinda weird and the game is quite difficult but the idea with the graphics are awesome ;D. Also that funny weird tune in the background makes the game even more fun ;p.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50am

Unfortunately mine says "A Java Exception has Occurred"
My JRE release: 1.7.0
x64 and x86 jre installed.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

the tune goes with the game. a few hints to weather I am doing good or not would be nice

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:21pm

It is very important that you unpack all the files from the archive and then run it! Else it won't work

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Okay please tell me if it works for everybody now, it's just a .jar now :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Whenever I try to run I always get a NoClassDefException? :(

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Getting an error when running it. "A java exception has occured". After running it through a batch file it says that it can't find the main class.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: TheMakersHand : Unsupported major
.minor version 52.0

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Java exception occured...

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40pm

@TheMorfeus Be sure you have the latest version of Java. This exception generally tells you that you don't have the latest java. The game was compiled with the newest version 8.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Please be sure you have the latest and full java 8. Also please check if you don't have an autostarter, that you ran it with 'java -jar TheMakersHand.jar'.

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I also get the java exception. There Java 1.7.0_25. I want to play this, the graphics look great!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:05pm

That is not the latest java version ;) The latest version is Java 8, meaning 1.8.0_20. That being the compiler version, your runtime environment can't run the game. I will try and compile with an outdated version of java.
But if you update your Java to Java 8 it should work right away. ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice idea!

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Sorry, no Java.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

This didn't run for me

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I've uploaded a version compiled with the NEWEST but java 7 version. It is outdated, but for those with not the newest version of java, it should work. Please try that version (Java Jar Java 7) ;)

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00am

This game has a cool look!

It was fun once I got the hang of the economies involved. Scored about 800 :P

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02am

Cool, and that's a really good score! :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06am

Manage to build small tower, but "God" was to far away. Limited amount of initial resources make it hard at the beginning. Nice game!

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Cool, interesting audio! Finished it with a score of 706.

Lythom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Hi there ! Here are some feedbacks.
What i liked :
- It's a management game =D
- Balancing seems pretty great.
- The game is fully playable.
What imo could be improved :
- Borders on the display, could't play with whoosing a proper background.
- hard to construct high because the UI in front hide what your building.
- Music ! I'm not against mouth recorded music but there is really too much noise on your record.
- Could have been a mouse only game, would have been easier to play.

Great overall, thanks for the game !

Aomeas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29pm

That music :O
Everyone died :(

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I found the music creepy, but interesting game.

elemel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Quirky. I like it.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

:) :) :) Challenging, Original, and Fun!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Strange game, but I liked it a lot! I love management sims.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Cool music :D Cool game :D

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:33am

I like it. A little easy though. Maybe you could make a sell/destroy building function.

fauge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:49am

creepy music, hard to read yellow text. also should be a restart button

hbocao says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Nice game! I couldn't get to the top, it seems like a bug when i get to a specific height, i can't get any taller so i don't reach to the gods. First entry that I listen to human voice made music. LOL. You should have varied it more, so it won't be so repetitive. Nice little game!

Shmackson says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:16am

First game that I had legitimate mood rating for. It all worked together to create a unique and strange feel to it.

racarate says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:25am

i really liked your music... didn't realize i could WASD move until the second game... played a few sessions but could never afford pipes to heaven. i really liked the handmade look though.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:27am

Thanks for playing and commenting you all :)
@hbocao To finish the game you have to get straight to god, so the tower must finish right beneath him. That is a 2x1 field where you can win.

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:44am

Cool game.Goodjob

creative630 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:34am

Not a bad game, figured out after a little while that if you don't build a farm first you're stuffed. The sounds were cool, but that tune in the background got really annoying after a while.

Conk says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:52am

It was a cool concept, if you expand it, i'd play it! The art does seem a little vague (took me a while to realise gold wasn't crops for farm) however it fitted well together. The audio I ended up muting, it fitted nicely, but after long periods it got really annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]