Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Driver's License

by Sanguine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

driver's license is a game about a super buff guy who has stranded on an island due to a freak car accident.

Items can be shared with other players by throwing them into the water. There are several endings but only 1 will be available to you when you don't get any items from other players. The more items you give away the more you will receive.

WASD to move
Spacebar to jump
LMB and RMB to pickup and throw items with left and right hand
Throw 2 items against eachother in mid-air to craft

-----------------------------------------------------
Updated the game slightly after uploading because of a game breaking bug that gave everyone the same island

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
Fun4.29
#4Innovation4.63
#4Humor4.47
#4Overall4.44
#8Theme4.39
#9Audio4.15
#26Mood4.08
#84Graphics4.05

Comments

Wolve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Someone told me to put a stick in my hole!!
It's awesome that you can send stuff to each other and the crafting is very satisfying. the story made me a little bit sad though :'(

simonnaus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Amazing sharing mechanic! People are so kind for giving me all their stuff!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

This is a lot of fun! Definitely an amazing take on the theme.

Got all kinds of lovely messages from the other contestants too. :D

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

awww yeaa this is awesome

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Holy moly what is this? Genius is what it is! :D

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Best game for me so far. Love it!
I just love sending random messages to people. It makes me feel all giggly, fuzzy and warm inside. I do think there could be more crafting combinations and the combining isn't as smoothly as it could be. Sometimes one of the items stays in my hands forever and I cannot do anything anymore, thus I cannot complete the game so far. Now I have to go, throw more stuff in the sea, bye.

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Hahahaha wow! that crafting is the best ever! love the artstyle too :)

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Now that's what I call crafting with style.
Love the share mechanic! Brilliant!
I also laughed out loud when I suddenly realized that I
have just picked up the tree, haha.

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I love this! The crafting is really clever and funny. The interactivity with others is a really great idea! Really fun to play and the music is relaxing. This is a really good game!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I just sent a solar panel adrift along with a doubtful friendly message. And I loved every part of it.

saampahlavan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

Man this game is super charming.

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Great game, super cool crafting thing and lovely music!

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Of all the entries I have tried this has the most innovative mechanics so far! Good work!

9joao6 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06am

Crafting things has never been more exciting. 10/10 :>

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Okay so I got a tree stuck to my hand while I tried to send it to someone and it even has a sticky note on it that is bugging out when I'm jumping and I can't do anything anymore.
http://i.imgur.com/2XtbM4d.png
I wasn't kidding, okay?

But it's still the best. Really, it's so good that I'm done for today.

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Wow, the most innovative game of the whole Ludum Dare! Now, if only I know the crafting recipe... >.>

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Crafted a fridge, rubber, hammer, hear, mostly by accident. I just started throwing stuff in the air, like I did not care..! Really enjoyed the feel of it, that was fun!

It did bug out after I tried sending my 4th or 5th item, it got stuck in my hand and I couldn't pick anything else up.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Love it!

neosam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:51am

Love it!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I keep having to restart because the left hand stops working. :( I really enjoy this, too -- the silliness is great.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:10am

I played this game a lot. It was very fun, and a very neat idea with the theme. Well done.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:18am

Love it. I can't even tell how much time this game has consumed from me. I have to play more, hoping there's still gifts coming my way.
(BTW I didn't know at first that my messages would actually reach someone, there might be some rude things I said. Sorry.)

alvivar says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:26am

awesome, very original, i did have a good time playing this.

arttut02 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:42am

Very nice idea! The car crash in the beginning was so strange idea that I had to like it ;).

Boberro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:24am

Hilarious. Did you know you can make new friends with this game? I'm talking about you #yoloswag - Bob

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:53am

Very original and nice idea :) ! Collisions were kinda annoying with me, it was hard to catch and throw object ô_o

Rehacked says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Hey man i really enjoyed it and gave many 5 stars really liked way of combining things. Good job!!

alpha_rat says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Awesome! I love the crafting and exchange system.
Receiving and sending messages is very pleasing !
I noticed a bug happening after a while with the left arm of the character : it began to shake and I could not use it anymore

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:22pm

That's briljant

xandy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:53pm

wow the questing is cool, the music is cool and the coop/message part is just genius!

YukonW says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:57pm

This is a pretty fun game! It's pretty interesting how you can send people your stuff. I even had people reply to me! Good work!

stvr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

One of my favorites so far. I got sent a refrigerator; how did that even get made!?!?

Wertle says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I loved this game! I'm normally not one to experiment with crafting to try and figure out combinations, but because it was so cute and fun to throw things into each other, I was much more willing to play around. I had trouble mapping which mouse button was which free hand, but I'm not sure a good solution to helping to convey that. I was a bit sad that after I made the final thing, I didn't get to throw my excess helpful things into the ocean. If i had more time, I'd go back and make a bunch of the helpful things and throw them in for other players. Well done!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Didn't really like controls; it took me some time to figure out how to craft at all, and even then it was somewhat tricky; the items around didn't help grabbing the correct thing. >.<

The messages system is somewhat fancy, though; I'm not sure, however, how items receiving is handled and if it requires two people being online at the same time at least. Also, am I correct in suspecting that depending on island there are different elementary items (specifically, the unkown-named white stones and rubber trees on one island, and coconuts and palm trees on another)? Are there other items? How long it might take before my message reaches someone?

I guess that sort of multiplayer can get rather troublesome, overall, if the items we get depends purely on whatever people throw in... especially if they are on the same sort of islands as us...?

Stepwise says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:16am

ahahaha oh my god I was laughing so hard at the whole premise I was crying.

Couldn't find anyone to send me stuff though :<

awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]