Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Earth

by The Lag Pack - Jam Entry

This is our first game. It's really more of a short interactive sequence than a game, but hopefully you enjoy it. It's running on our own custom engine that our programmer has been sweating over to complete on the fly. It's buggy, very short, the graphics got stretched and the code is a mess, but were very proud of our first creation :D

Controls:
Movement - Arrow keys
Continue - Spacebar
Quit - Escape

If you get the missing MSVCR120.dll error install vcredist_x86.exe from
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679# and install

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#430Humor(Jam)2.32
#486Theme(Jam)2.93
#540Graphics(Jam)2.96
#590Audio(Jam)2.17
#668Innovation(Jam)2.37
#716Fun(Jam)2.23
#716Overall(Jam)2.59

Comments

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44am

Why you no Mac?

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

I cant write for Mac, yet :D

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:00am

The graphics are a little blurry, but I liked the style. Nice short game. :)

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:05am

Bit blurry, not sure if it froze or the game ended when I was looking at Earth being shot.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06am

Nice first creation :-) Very short, and more of a interactive short story, but you still managed to get some mood in there. :-)

swabbur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

Can't open it, says a .dll file is missing :(

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

Thank you for the comments :) The game does in fact end at the shot of the earth. I had the idea of that being a final look back and leaving the fate of earth for the player to decide, however it seemed better in my head and perhaps we should have put in an actual end screen.

Also were not entirely sure why the graphics went blurry, we assume its because they were stretched across the screen. Hopefully in the future we will learn how to properly apply the graphics without ruining them. We'll also be adding sound and music into our next game and may come back to this one to sort of remake it.

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

If you get the missing MSVCR110.dll you may have to install http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679#
Sorry about that.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

The graphics are nice and the story is atmospheric. It's more like a cutscene than a game, but it's nice work for the Jam!

Toubib says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39pm

dll missing

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:26pm

What dll does it say you are missing?

Follett says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I didn't really like the blurry (stretched?) graphics but I was interested the entire time. Really good work!

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

cool game

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nice mood ! The end is funny :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Art style is nice, good entry.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:03pm

It asked me for msvcr120.dll. I downloaded it and put it in the game folder, then gave me another error.

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:34pm

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Installing vcredist_x86.exe from the above link should fix the msvcr120.dll error.

Let me know whether it works or not. :D

Aglavra says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:42pm

It lacks of gameplay.. At least an opportunity to interact with other people somehow. I liked how the surroundings were drawed, but the main character seemed disharmonic (stretched vertically?)

Acuity says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I wasn't sure if the game ended when I reached the 2nd level of the bridge...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]