Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

TwitForce

by GLStephen - Jam Entry

TwitForce integrates with Twitter to change game dynamics. TwitForce is a SHMUP with a twist. Tweets which contain #TFPilot and tweets that contain #TFEnemy will provide boosts to the pilot fire rate and enemy spawn rates respectively. This is a multiplayer SHMUP of a totally different sort and Connects the Worlds of Twitter and Gaming!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#298Innovation(Jam)3.18
#337Audio(Jam)3.18
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#444Overall(Jam)3.13
#445Fun(Jam)2.93
#540Graphics(Jam)2.96
#569Mood(Jam)2.74

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22am

Space impact..

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:32am

Not a bad effort, it would be nice to see the idea fleshed out some, though. Not sure about the theme, but maybe it is hidden in there somewhere.

GLStephen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

bobrock - we're connecting twitter -> the game. We focused on the concept of connecting worlds in RL outside the game into the game instead of it being a visual or direct gameplay element.

mlabarca says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49am

I tested it tweeting the hashtag and then deleting it, but I didn't see any impact on the game.

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Interesting take on the theme.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52am

I liked the idea with Twitter, but I must admit I didn't realize it until after I read the comments. An impressive idea.
The game itself wasn't anything new, but I did play until around level 60 or so :-)

GLStephen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

@mlabarca
One tweet will result in 1 TwitBoost. This increases your fire rate by a small amount. You can get up to a maximum of 10 Boost from 10 tweets. It all happens in real time and each individual tweets boost lasts an undisclosed amount of time.
#TFenemy works exactly the same way only boosting spawn rate of the enemies.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38am

Interesting concept. I didn't have any Twit boost though, and the game wasn't exactly difficult? I think it would be great to see a point where the game needed the social media aspect to be successful, really to encapsulate the whole multi-player aspect.

Really great work, and I love the Twitter integration into the concept.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

Awesome job! I got to try out the Twitboost and it was really satisfying to see that instantaneous reaction in game. I liked the nice clean lines and colors you used to get the aesthetic just right as well. :D

Piscythe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00am

I thought the main mechanic was interesting, if a bit of a stretch with the theme (connect the worlds of the game and twitter or somesuch.) I wasn't able to test the implementation because I don't have a twitter. As for what mechanics I did see, it seemed solid until I realized I was in no actual danger. Enemies shooting at the player would fix that.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Good game, the boosts came and it made it much easier to kill the enemies.

GLStephen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20am

Thanks for the feedback. This is our very first game and we definitely would like to spend more time on balancing everything, but didn't have the time in the 72 hours.

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Such a cool idea, wow!! I think the concept has a lot of potential :o Maybe it would be cool trying to link it with even more social media stuff

hate-marina says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Could be harder :B
Nice music

danbo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Wouldn't it be cool to target specific players and spawn special enemies etc into their game? Kinda like an invasion mechanic...

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I think this can be a good idea if it was connected to other words than #TF... that are specific for this game...
Then our run depend of strangers and what they tweet...

foolmoron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Really cool idea connecting to twitter like that

Buttsteam says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Kept me entertained for a while. Kind of wish there was more variety with the enemies and power ups.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:01pm

While i like the idea of connecting two 'worlds', i dont like having to twitter something. Also, during ludumdare there are not enough people for multiplayer games.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]