Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fairy Bash

by trekapp - Jam Entry

First game ever. Made with Phaser (http://phaser.io/)
Thanks to The Distillery Rats (http://distilleryrats.wordpress.com/) for the awesome music and thanks to Max for hosting!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#106Humor(Jam)3.32
#213Audio(Jam)3.42
#242Fun(Jam)3.28
#490Mood(Jam)2.90
#601Innovation(Jam)2.62
#605Graphics(Jam)2.82
#676Overall(Jam)2.73
#762Theme(Jam)1.61

Comments

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12am

A funny interpretation of break-out - good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

a realy lovly style and good Humor.

JUJU says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:13am

I've got no idea on what I just played, but it was fun and the music is good.

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17am

+fast start
+own graphics style
-goal?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

The best thing about this game is music :) Btw, it's simple, but really fun to play.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:36am

Simple and fun. Nice music. GJ.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Nice for the "first ever game"! Cool music

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12pm

My god that is insanely hard... but really really fun and addictive!
Fantastic concept, I'll have to bookmark this and keep playing later!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I have lost my pony! :( Nice music!

trekapp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Oh no, that's so sad DaanVanYperen... Here, this one (http://maxkaul.de/ludum_dare/have-a-pony.png) is just for you. But pssssst - we don't want anyone to become jealous now, do we?

Thanks for all the feedback :)

elemel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:13pm

That made sense. :-)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Great humor and cool concept!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

THE GOOD: This game was original, cute, and challenging.

THE BAD: There is no bad, this game was awesome :)

Skyfish says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Nice for first game, but I killed the fairy, the game still said I lost.

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Nice Game!
Interesting Apple-Physics!
Nice Graphic-Style
Epic Music!
Not a real connections to the main-theme though ;)
Good Work!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Cool gameplay.
And I really enjoyed the music ;)

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Hehe nice little game. Like a mix between blobby volley and breakout :)

Benjamin says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Very fun gameplay, this wa shilarious ! Your first game ever ? Gamedev is definitively a thing you should spend more time on.

slumber says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Very Fun!! Addictive, the art in this game is really neat. The sound is off the walls and really attributes to the game.

Having in game sounds, such as hitting can or fairy would be beneficial.

I don't quite see the "Connected Worlds" but its a lot of fun, and i kept going back.

Great Work!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:33pm

It was unsure what exactly made me lose, I hadn't run out of apples. Also, this appears to have ZERO to do with the theme.

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:39am

What a funny game! lol
The music is awesome!

But if your apple gets to the ground, you're screwed. If you hit the apple, you are the one going up. If you leave the screen it is game over. That doesn't seem right.

trekapp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

fyi: it's a connection of the fairy world (blue ground) and the cowboy world (desert ground)..

torvik88 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

This game was so much fun, a simple game at heart but with cartoony graphics and spot on sounds it was incredible. :D

Sep 13, 2014 @ 12:18am

I don't know what I just played.. But it was pretty awesome. haha

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]