Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Burning Worlds

by TomTheG - Jam Entry

Arcade-style game developed in Unity. My first LD (jam) game.

Mouse over the worlds to cool them from the sun's heat. They also grow when you do that!

If they get too hot, they die! If one dies, the other dies! Save them. Try to beat your best time!

Only tested in Windows/Web. Enjoy and thanks for comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Innovation(Jam)3.15
#393Theme(Jam)3.15
#399Humor(Jam)2.38
#484Graphics(Jam)3.12
#511Fun(Jam)2.81
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#559Audio(Jam)2.41
#622Mood(Jam)2.60
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

uvwar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20am

Fairly interesting. Is it possible to get passed 18 seconds? Because I didn't seem to be able to.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40am

Simple, but great art and style!

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52am

I think i passe some level.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53am

21 seconds! And that's as far as I'm going to get on this trackpad. That was definitely enjoyable. Good work keeping the scope in check and executing beautifully. Obviously not the deepest game in the world, but I liked it!

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58am

Yep, it's possible to get past 18 seconds.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15am

Interesting idea! And the graphics are pretty nice too

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

26 Seconds was the best I got, incredibly simple but unique idea, cool entry!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17am

Graphics are cool!

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

Nice twist on the theme. I made 0:16.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

That got hard quick. I love how when worlds die they explode like balloons.

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:58am

Best is 17 seconds, love the game, very difficult after 10 seconds

ramoncb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:52pm

20 seconds \o/

The sound helped me alot ;-)

Three beeps for each planet until 10 seconds, then two, then one, then the planets became too fast for me xD

Simple but very challenging! Good job!

creative630 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Tough! I couldn't get past 14 seconds!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:12pm

16 seconds... Simple and fun take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]