Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Meteor Merchant

by Freudian - Jam Entry

[AUTOSAVE ERROR FIXED, SMALL ENCRYPTION PROBLEM. DIDNT TAKE LONG ALL DONE :D]

Mouse control supported, Keyboard controls are <^> Arrow
keys or Left Click to move and Z and X to interact (Or Esc and Enter). Shift allows the player to sprint whilst moving.
Game produced in RPG MAKER VX ACE. Produced within 72 hours and submitted to the Jam.

You play as a Rogue Artifact Hunter.
In search of riches you set out to explore the galaxy, venturing far and wide. After your last expedition you took near fatal damage and returned home safely. Get your ship back in order and explore the galaxy once more and search for minerals and Artifacts of both Rarity and Value.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Mood(Jam)4.07
#110Overall(Jam)3.67
#130Graphics(Jam)4.06
#159Audio(Jam)3.53
#179Fun(Jam)3.41
#299Theme(Jam)3.35
#588Innovation(Jam)2.65
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35am

Really good ambience and environments was a fun game to play.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I could not prove it, the game closes

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28pm

prove what? can you explain in more detail?

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

The game looks great but when I play it keeps crashing on second screen. Something like Error Access denied Save... :/

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14pm

ok..

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

ive figured out the problem, the scripting file is encrypted and wont allow the autosave feature to execute.

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Uploading a fix now

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Please use the EXE dl link as the installer is still broken

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

wow very impressive level of polish on the gui and intractability for the time constraint. nice job!

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

thanks man!, aim to please :D

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12am

I like the mood of your game.
Here is what I didn't like: Sometimes I have problems interacting with objects or persons. Either my click is ignored, or a person moves away and I am endlessly clicking behind...

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:02am

Had a few crashes here and there (mainly seemed random)I'd like to try a more polished version of this game!

Freudian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:30pm

ill get on it, a few things wer just down to lack of sleep and forgetting to relink events here and there but my guess is that its the pickups and npc's

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:21pm

How much of the assets were created from scratch and how much was included in RPG maker? It's hard to rate without more info on what you created. Congrats on a good product though.

Freudian says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

all of the event scripting is my work, the tilesets and and characters were from dlc royalty free packs from an asset provider. i wasnt going to make my own tilesets because pixel art would have taken up majority of the 3 days, as i was doing this solo the only thing i had time for really was event scripting, as many people who use rpg maker know event scripting is a very time intensive process. And thanks i did what i could with the time i had

mechabit says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

nice writting

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:41am

Holy crap that's one huge download.

Freudian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:35pm

yeah im sorry about the download, i had a few issues with compressing and the installer but this is the best i can do. I suggest playing a few others while it downloads if you really wanna try it out but id really appreciate it if you did id love some more feedback.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Got it to run with wine =P Large download I have to say. The story seems interesting, but unfortunately I didn't get very far. This genre isn't all that appealing to me. But it sure looks like a lot of though and work went into this.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

Wow, this has to be the most elaborate entry I've seen so far. Gameplay is good, graphics are excellent, great entry, one of the best in the 100+ I've rated!

Shivur says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:11am

Very good game!

CoolIron says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:52pm

You've done a lot of work! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]