Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries


by banana4life - Jam Entry

Hey guys,

We are a german team consisting of 4 members. We came up with our wonderful game "Disconnect".

You play two players that are in two different worlds, but were connected by evil scientists. Now they can only move when the other person can move too. They only have a disconnector that allows them to wander around independently for a short time before the energy goes out. You need to find the endless powersource, developed in the same lab, to be able to disconnect and free the two forever. But be aware of the guards walking around.

I (Jonas) made a short playthrough of our game for you to watch:

And if you like the music:

Have fun with our entry,
Team Banana4Life

Twitter: @bananafourlife

Downloads and Links




keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

Not the best graphics, but I like the style a lot, great game, nice idea!

cheers ~ keddelzz

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

Thanks man :)

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47am

Interesting idea. Very original.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52am

Yeah, thanks. I think it turned out good.

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59am

Interesting idea. Somewhat glitchy and hard to figure out the controls at first. Could be a pretty cool game if you kept working on it. Thanks for the walkthru :)

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:00am

Thanks. Yeah it was kind of hard to sync the two players, when only one collides. We had real issues with the collision detection, but in the end it worked somehow. :D

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am


ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

Very nice idea, a bit confusing, but it is really fun once you understand

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

Thanks guys. Yeah it is a bit confusing when one walks against a wall and you fokus on the other, wondering why he is not moving. :D

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

Really nice, good job on this. Very fun!

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

Thanks. I love reading this comments. :)

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11am

I like the style, and I've never seen your take on "hidden" tiles hidden by walls before. Also very entertained and loved your interpretation of the theme. I am very impressed with this.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

Nice, clever idea that is fun to play. Collisions could use some work though.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

Great game and idea. I got stuck for a little while and got frustrated with all the deaths! But, remembering time and checkpoints would have been a good chunk of code I guess. Great fun!

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:01am

Very cool guys thank you all a lot.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:29pm

very amused! and Original :)

SketchyGalore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Interesting use of the theme!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46pm

The gameplay is iteresting

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Thank you all a lot guys.

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice work! It fits the theme, I really like the art style and your voice acting is amazing! :)

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:11am

Interesting game play and nice puzzles! The graphics and the music is great!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I dig it, could use a little refining but overall a neat little game.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Cool idea, took a couple times before I felt like I knew what I was doing though. Good work!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I really, really, really loved the music. The game was good by itself, but really, that was great music.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Didn't rate this since I can't play it - both cross platform and windows version stop half-way through with a Failed - Network Error (Chrome and Firefox on Win7)...

banana4life says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:37pm

@vividhelix I'm sorry for that, we can't reproduce the problem on our side :(

banana4life says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Added a Mirror for the corss platform version

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:27am

this game is awesome. Really nice done !

Ramiel says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:29am

Interesting idea. The hidden keys were a bit confusing though.
Some soundeffects for the timer would have been nice. Except for that it is a nice little game.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Interesting idea I just wish it wasn't so easy to screw up the doors, good job!

Longarmx says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Awesome game!

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:24pm

A fun puzzle game. The music was fantastic.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:27am

Had some trouble figuring out how everything worked (big blob of text right at the beginning is where you put things you DON'T want people to read :P)

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Awesome game! The music is so cool. Congrats for the entry.

Rialgar says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:40pm

randomizing the guards can screw with such games, had to restart once because it was impossible to pass a guard in time to be reconnected

DeltaF1 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:57pm

The graphics and audio are nice, and the gameplay is tight. The puzzles are difficult to figure out because of the hidden tiles. The controls can be a little confusing, but good game overall.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]