Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

NEXUS

by brokenbeach - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The NEXUS; A mysterious alien planet shrouded by a thick, impenetrable fog. The worlds surrounding the NEXUS are connected by their beacons; ancient alien artifacts that are the key to unveiling it's secrets.

This game is an arcade shooter/platformer, focused on feel-good gameplay and terrain destruction.

This is my first time taking part in Ludum Dare. In fact, this is the first game I've ever completed. The code's a mess, and there are a couple of small bugs but nothing substantial. The hardest part has just been distributing it. Still working on an OSX and Linux wrapper. In the mean time, the Windows one should work, so long as you 'run anyway' when Windows tries to stop you. Apologies for the inconvenience.

I chose a simple 5-colour palette. And focused on "feel-good" shooting, platforming, and terrain destruction. It's pretty short, but the final level is something very different from the rest. And it's fairly challenging too!

I hope you enjoy it. If you do, feel free to follow me on twitter @brokenbeachuk or on tumblr at www.brokenbeach.com

* Someone mentioned being stuck on the menu screen. I can't seem to reproduce the problem after downloading and running the game. I'm still able to run it problem free. For those who may not know, you select a planet with 'ENTER'.

** I'd like to apologise to those experiencing crashes. I'm not entirely sure what could be causing them, but I'm looking into it right now, but I'm having trouble reproducing many of these problems. Please do try both the Windows wrap and executable jar file. Thanks for your patience and most of all, thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#72Graphics4.11
#257Mood3.35
#269Overall3.50
#314Fun3.34
#399Humor2.58
#522Audio2.76
#813Theme2.86
#833Innovation2.79

Comments

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:48pm

I seem to be stuck on this screen: http://i.imgur.com/tkZCnKT.png

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Im also stuck on that screen. Running openjdk on debian.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Nice gameboy-style graphics. Game is quite hard to play, at least for me. Very challenging.

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Wow awesome game. I love the look and feel. Great job mate.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Pretty nice game, unfortunately the game crashed when I completed the astroid level so I couldn't finish the game.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Great little shooter/platformer. I've not finished it yet (only excavated three planets) but I'm impressed by its polish. It really feels great.
Graphics are simple but to the point, maybe a little too small.
I'm not too sure about the theme, but not having found 'the nexus', I can't say much.
Very solid entry.

Ramori says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Very nice game. Big bullets, lots of particle effects - you know what's good :)
I've also found bug, but I wasn't able to reproduce it. Once on meteor and once on final world (probably doesn't matter where) in the middle of a fight game screen froze. Nothing moved, but when I pressed the arrows I could still hear shooting sound.

Conk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Quite hard, not entirely sure how to finish a level, did excavated mean complete? I don't know how I did that if so. Was very fun and looks awesome, love the style.

Zigsfi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Great art, great gameplay. Very hard!

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55am

Challenging, but really fun. Doesn't feel like a first game! Great job :)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:37am

Love the pixel art, awesome choice of colors! Cool innovation too

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:52am

Like the visuals. But game TOOOO hard for me =(

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:42am

Wow, this was amazing. I really killed my hand trying to beat that last boss! It took a while to understand what I was supposed to do on the first level, but once I got it... wow. My favorite was definitely the asteroids level. Right when I started feeling really cocky and confident about my skills, the game would wipe the floor with me and make me work a lot harder. Awesome.

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really cool Game I love the graphics and the generally style and shooting in 4 directions :)

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Couldn't boot the windows file, it says that the main class main.game is not found

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Feels great! Love the color palette, FIGGEN HARD!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Looks pretty good but I'm having menu issues.

spotco says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

Great game, finished it pretty quick. Controls felt a little floaty+slippery (especially with the bit of precision platforming), but loved the (SPOILER ALERT) boss.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:11pm

It's really hard, but also really rewarding. This game is so well made. Congrats and thanks for this!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

This is awesomely COMPLETE game which made it top on my list until I find a better game among entries.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Graphics are nice! Neat game!

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Love the gameboy graphics. Retro-time!

Pinqu says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Love the retro look, but the controls were a little hard to adapt to.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Congratulations on your first LD dude! ^^ For a first time this is really really good! I personally think that it's a bit too difficult. Especially the jump height bugged me out each time I fell into a little gap and got stuck. I can see you tried going for game feel but I think you can still learn a LOT on that part, here maybe this video helps if you haven't seen it yet: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg Because you know, in your game there isn't too much happening and it can get a bit stale. Add more different elements and exaggerate even more!

azidhouse says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:39am

Congratulation, the game is very challenging! BTW the source zip contains only compiled classes and not actual sources... Is it intentional?

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:25am

Really hard, but the controls were very responsive and the movement and shooting was smooth as hell. Great entry. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]