Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Triple Threat

by saswat - Jam Entry

Engine - Adobe Flash CC
Language - ActionScript 3.0
Graphics - Adobe PhotoShop CC

Triple threat is a 3-player puzzler game. The game depicts a fight between 3 different worlds(humans(Earth), martians(Mars), gorillas(Planet of the Apes :-) )).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#233Innovation(Jam)3.31
#421Humor(Jam)2.34
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#552Theme(Jam)2.74
#578Graphics(Jam)2.89
#599Fun(Jam)2.63
#623Audio(Jam)1.91
#637Mood(Jam)2.55

Comments

Peni6 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Nicely made with a good concept, although an AI would have made it perfect.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57am

Nice idea - as already mentioned, an AI and/or (network) multiplayer-mode would be cool... :-)

neosam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:18am

Also like the concept and also recommend an AI :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Interesting interpretation! ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ AI

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Cool concept, really needs an AI to play against though, or networked mode as Hippolyta mentioned

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I agree with the others, AI would have made this great but its pretty good

Squidtank says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I can see it becoming fun with actual players or an AI. It's a great cross between Chinese Checkers and Checkers - at least that's what I felt it was like!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Wow, a board game... ! That takes a lot of guts! It's so damn hard to program AIs for these things. We tried to design one once outside of LD and it went pretty horribly even then, haha. I played against myself and actually, even alone it was pretty interesting. I was a bit confused because it seemed like often, pieces could move a LOT farther than I would expect when you said "adjacent" squares, and that the last two squares of enemy territory were the goal (not just the box that you can't leave once you enter it).

Hey, thanks for the game! This was neat and seems like just the right thing for kids on a long car trip, haha ;]

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Nice game, but I'm missing AI, it's not that fun to play against myself, but don't worry, I won't rate it less for this :D

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Nice game! I think with some tweaks and additions you could move it to tabletop! It's easy and interesting :)

saswat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Sorry guys, for the missing instructions.....I'm currently working on it(a tutorial)...will update it wihtin a day or two

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:01pm

wow neat, very cool idea for the theme

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:17am

Neat game, definitely needs some AI though, as previously mentioned.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23am

Interesting game. AI would have been nice, but still very good!

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37pm

I'd like to implement this as a multiplayer game! Interested in working together? Also see my entry :D
bushmango@gmail.com

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Neat little game. The rules seemed a litte too simple, but I didn't have anyone here to play with to test it right. It's possible it works great once three are playing. It's great to see someone trying out something that's more like a real board game! :)

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Good idea same critic about AI to really try the game. Actually the graphics, and the GUI are really neat, nice, it's like many video/boardgame but even the choice of icon each group is really nice.
Can't say if the game is entertaining, well-balanced or challenging but as a first try, it get all my interest.

ehtd says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Also missed an AI, but quite interesting.

Any particular reason to host in gamejolt? I personally don't like having to watch advertisements to play a jam game

Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Good concept. It reminds me a little of chinese checkers but killing the enemies.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:32pm

What should I say? I like the concept but didn't have 3 people handy to really try it out.

t4u says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:37pm

3-player checkers = great idea. But no AI(not even a random one!). I don't understand right picture in help part 4. Theme is forced into the game(instead of being part of it).

Benjamin says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:14pm

The board is neat. I like it. But I'm not sure the rules are ok. The one step / one move make the defensive strategy the most efficient because you know clearly which move are safe and which are unsafe. From here, the first player who make an unsafe move will probably suffer a loss. So like in chess you can protect your piece with others but I'm not sure it will be that fun.

Well it's only suppositions because I didnt played it with friends. Maybe the 3x players stuff will correct it. I suppose you dont want to see your 2x opponents destroying each others and taking points without jumping in too :D

Anyway very interesting board, this triangle-square mashup is genius.

sephyka says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Interesting entry. I might be great with AI and better sound and visual feedbacks.

dunin says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Can't rate because I don't have friend with me to test (as everybody say: it's good to add an AI, even simple).
The board is cool and really little, I imagine it's a fast game. Maybe be good for online game...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]