Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Martian Sock Challenge

by jshaffer94247 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connections between worlds are often obvious...AFTER it has been pointed out. Why didn't we figure this out years ago??

This game is HTML5 based and can be played with a PC mouse, with a touch screen, or with keyboard "A" and "D" for the serious. It should work on mobile.

You WIN if you collect 100 pairs of socks, but the game allows you to keep going if you are challenging a friend. (Infinite collector, I suppose.)

"High Score" is only kept for the session, so if you actually get a "double dog dare" you'll need to take a screenshot to show your friends. There are badges up to 100 that will show up in your screenshot if you make it that far, so you can prove you did it. (Badges are not shown in the screenshots below for exactly that reason.)

Some things I learned along the way:
* Warm-up weekend would have been a great idea :\
* Art may or may not be my strong suit :\
* Leave more time for player testing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Humor3.46
#800Fun2.77
#833Audio2.16
#855Innovation2.77
#965Mood2.46
#1066Overall2.59
#1087Theme2.23
#1112Graphics2.12
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:35am

Nice little game, but gets really tough really fast.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Haha, funny little game. :) I got to 47, and then my eyes started to hurt from looking too long at quickly rotating socks. ;)

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Made me laugh a bit. And was also fun for a couple of minutes. I've always been wondering where those socks are going...

garygreen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

It made me smile. :-)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:50am

Nice, funny entry! Enjoyed the humor and fitted the theme well!

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:16am

:) Glad you had fun. Original plan included levels and...yeah, well, y'all know what happened to that, right? Took me until Saturday after midnight (um, guess that means Sunday) to get the basic mechanic of showing which socks you'd collected to work. Didn't leave any time for all those other ideas. Lessons learned for next year!

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:38am

Good base mechanic and you get into the game in seconds. Nice little game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:10am

Fun - the difficulty curve is a bit steep though! :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01am

Simple, fun, cute :>

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08am

Oh no, I lost so many pairs. Need to go to buy new ones...

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42am

interesting :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Hi there. First of all... haha! Good idea, like the high speed spinning at same time introduce the patterned socks... cruel. Good job, nice SFX.

gnerkus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Nice! I had a lot of fun with this game. Thanks.

aeveis says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:07am

There's something charming about the little smiley aliens. Interesting progression to try and make the matching harder.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Funny idea, but don't see how it fits into connected worlds.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]