Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum dare entry #1

by SomeGreenGoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first game for Ludum Dare. Made with GIMP, freepascal and Jedi-SDL. Don't really know what to name it but here it is.

INSTRUCTIONS:
Move using arrow keys. Collect resources that appear on the map. Use QWERT-keys to build constructions to defend yourself against enemies.
Q - Build floor (On lava) or remove a construction.
W - Build spikes. Damage enemies. Do not damage player.
E - Build healing floor. Heals player when standing on top. Destroyed if enemy moves on top.
R - Build portal to the beginning of a random world.
T - Build burner. Damages enemies. Stronger than spikes, and don't disappear.

H - Shows help / building costs.

EDIT:
World 1 (Green) spawns sticks and rocks.
World 2 (Red) spawns rocks and glowing rocks.

Any killed enemy has a 1/7 chance of dropping enemy blood.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#524Innovation3.19
#673Humor2.16
#724Theme3.00
#868Audio2.00
#912Overall2.83
#1008Fun2.48
#1030Mood2.29
#1185Graphics1.76

Comments

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34pm

This is actually a really cool concept. I think a better control scheme might be WASD to move and mouse to build. You could select what you are building with the number keys. That way, you don't have to stand on the lava to build a floor on it.

I also never found any of the pears/magic things. Maybe I didn't go through the portal enough times? It didn't seem to do anything.

SomeGreenGoo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Yeah. World 1 spawns sticks and rocks, while world 2 spawns glowing rocks and rocks.
The potion is spawned when enemies are killed (1/7 chance of spawning).

Glad you like it :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:30pm

That was a lot of fun. There are a lot of mechanics at play here that make this satisfying. I felt like I was always building towards something and I loved being able to manipulate my environment.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

The concept is interesting, but the game needs better control scheme. It would be good to have a list of keys sonewhere in the corner on the screen, because it is not fun to try to memorize them.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice concept, although I never found any green things despite killing some baddies. I'd make it easier to kill baddies (using 1 spikes) and more likely to give those potions! Quite satisfying building stuff though

klianc09 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

The art will surely turn away some people. But the concept is pretty solid (except that I would have wished for some sort of ultimate goal). I'm a sucker for such resource collecting games, so it absorbed quite some of my time. (I built myself a fortress of burners and now let it run in the background to farm myself so much resources, that i can pave the world in spikes and burners OR until it crashes.)

Just create more worlds (it don't even have to be many different types of worlds, just for example multiple green and red worlds), different types of enemies, a simpler control scheme with construction information displayed right there on the hud, and create a reason for the player to *NOT* just build a fortress and go afk forever. And then you got yourself a truly great game.^^

Now if you excuse me, I got some sticks and stones to collect.

@BMacIntosh: A portal takes you to a "Random" world, which also includes the world you are currently in, and the target world is determined by the location of the portal. So it seems like some portals are not working, because they just take you to the beginning of your current world.

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Definitely a good choice focusing on gameplay over graphics! I would really like to see this after a few rounds of polish. You should definitely continue development!

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:05pm

This is awesome for your first entry!
Pretty nice concept!

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

I quite liked this one, good job!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:46am

I loved the exploration side of this, I don't know why but it reminded me of Civ I :)

Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I played for a while, got 248 points and catched a bug. After entering help screen, I believe I was going north while doing so, when I when I went back to the world my character went automatically to the north, and when pressing south it just stopped vertically. I believe you need to reset speed when going into a help screen.
The game was playable and interesting, and got me playing until I found that bug.

SomeGreenGoo says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:43pm

@thecolorhacker - Thanks for finding the bug. I have uploaded a fix for the problem, which I think is within the rules. Not sure how much it matters. Glad people enjoy my little creation. :)
The problem was quite simple really. I use 4 boolean variables to store which direction the player should move in which are set to true when the corresponding key is pressed, false if it is released. When h is pressed the game state changes and it is not checked if arrowkeys are released, and the direction therefore is stuck.

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Congrats on your first Ludm Dare :D Great work on the game n_n

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]