Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Two Selves

by kadybat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a very short experiment, done solely to prove that I could. I'm making it more for me, but I hope you enjoy it. Here, the connected worlds are the two lives I've lead: the one I lead while growing up, and the one I live now, presented to the player as separate realities. It's inherently about my own experiences as a transfeminine individual, but I've tried to ignore gendered aspects as much as possible in order to maintain a feeling of depersonalization and allow the player to make the experience their own.

Downloads and Links




bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

This is an interesting text adventure game which explores the life of a person who leads 2 lives. One displayed to the outside world which conforms to people's expectations and the author's "real" life. I definitely feel like I'm on the outside looking in while playing this game. Good luck to the author, I did not play to completion but I will be coming back for more.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45am

I feel like your preface should have been an afterward. You did a good job of making a game that could be fit to any number of situations/feelings, which includes transgender issues, but by prefacing it with your experiences you color the lenses right before handing the glasses off to the player.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

Great writing! It's always cool to see social issues explored through interactive fiction.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:21am

Nice story - I'm so glad to have played your game and being able to try and grasp someone else's reality :) you should make more of these!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

This one hits close to home for non-obvious reasons.

I used to be a devout Christian, and thus believed that all LGBT people were on a one-way street to a place I believed in called Hell. I didn't even know what LGBT meant, nor would I have acknowledged it if I had heard it.

That was a long time ago. I've opened my own doors and come out in my own ways. Although I wasn't born gay or transgendered, I now accept that those who are should be treated like anyone else. There are both good-natured and evil people from the LGBT community, just like any other community. Heck; one of the first gamedev books I've ever read was written by Anna Anthropy, a transgendered individual.

The metaphors "out" and "opening a closed door that may have only seemed locked at first" may seem overused, but they're just so appropriate. This game puts the glasses on our eyes and let's us have a glimpse through the eyes of someone who has been through it, and is still going through it all.

There were some typos, but other than that, I think this game serves its purpose well. Thank you for giving us a peek past the media curtain.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

enjoyed reading the story, thanks

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

".., ready to begin again." It's a heck of a story. Now I feel a bit depressed and unsure of myselft O_O

duncankeller says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:28am

Some pieces of the writing helped me empathize very well. Things like "The child is… dressed wrong" actually had quite an effect on me. I actually wish you went a bit more specific rather than taking the general approach. Either way, I liked it a lot.

Also, I used the "Fun" category to rate my enjoyment of the story, as I figured that made the most sense and helped keep the ratings fair.

Thanks for the story.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I'm glad you made this game, it was interesting to take a look into your life. Thanks :)

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:51am

Didn't expect to see a text adventure. Good job, it's quite nice.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I've been liking the assortment of story based games on LD. Great addition.

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:56pm

This is quite nice. I think it did a good job of bringing the point across in a very general and relatable way even though you say it's very personal :)

erdnuss says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Hmmm, very interesting. I am not really sure what to make of it, so it is definitely a game that is worth playing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]