Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connectiverse

by Bernte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I really hope you enjoy. My code got pretty spaghetti but it was massive fun!
It was my first time JavaScript (learned it during yesterday) so I needed a lot of coffee and lost some hair :)

Dig right into the epic quest for mankinds crystal.

And don't judge the Raycaster too hard :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Audio3.75
#112Mood3.63
#121Theme3.85
#321Innovation3.46
#339Graphics3.46
#402Overall3.35
#918Fun2.62
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Very cool!
Graphics are very nice for something made entirely of spheres - nice sense of depth.
The music is very suitable - how'd you make it?
I like that you've turned a classic NP-Complete problem (Wandering Salesman problem) into a game :P

Killbert says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I love the music and the art style.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00am

This game is amazing! Very cool concept, great 3D space, extremely fitting music, everything is great except it's a little hard to follow. Great game overall.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I must say, the picture doesn't look all that cool but in game it really cool turning around to pick the planets.
I have to say, the difficulty is quite unbalanced, It starts off really hard and it easy to get yourself out of energy but later it become quite easy.

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Music is awesome! I find it was a bit hard for me too, but cool idea!

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Little bit of a learning curve, but it is fun!

OFF says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:23pm

The game itself is hard to manage, because it's hard to see an easy strategy for newbie like at those games.

But your GUI, and look are awesome, i was fan of the look when you turn around your planet but when you start to game it makes the choose of the good path really hard :
- use same size planet to make clear the distance from us
- use depth of field, or any equivalent (spatial fog, etc..) to give to the player a clear sense of the distance.

If it's your first time in javascript, your next game will be amazing, because this one is cool (even if i can't really judge the difficulty) : simple idea, great look, the song is really deep, and the mouse control, and the GUI are really brillant (exception for the rules, who are badly shown ;).

Wesley Ding says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Great combo of theme, audio, and mood.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I really liked the atmosphere you created. The music is lovely and matches the game perfectly. Extra kudos for having it made in javascript :D

micahcowan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I don't think I figured out quite how to play it: I'd connect the worlds and hit "Generate Path", but it didn't seem like anything would happen after that point, and my energy would keep dropping (running Firefox).

Music is very nice. Took me a while to discover I could also click and drag to rotate the view.

whalebot says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:37pm

This was really cool. I wasn't very good, but just drawing paths and rotating around was neat.

Benjamin says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Well I could selectp lanet and build path but it seems there's no effect on ressources. energy is still droping

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]