Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jacob's Ladder

by howkj1 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Jacob's Ladder

Jacob's Ladder, a bridge between the worlds of Heaven and Earth.
A visionary, maze-like adventure to rediscover a part of written history.
Journey through dreams of the past... dreams of God and of Angels

Tools Used :

Software :

Unity
Gimp
CrazyBump
TextWrangler
MonoDevelop
Audacity
Propellerhead Figure (iPad)
screencapture (CLI terminal app for Mac for timelapse screenshots)


Hardware :

Mac Mini
iPad2
ENSONIQ MR61 studio workstation keyboard / piano
POD HD500
Electric Guitar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#554Audio2.72
#799Graphics2.72
#803Mood2.72
#933Humor1.47
#1115Theme2.15
#1169Innovation1.92
#1199Overall2.18
#1202Fun1.60
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

Interesting game. I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/v1uehyKcvFY

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28am

I ended up getting lost in the town :(

howkj1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

@ Kyle Mac : The level is designed as a maze with multiple paths and multiple exits. I'll post a developer picture of the entire layout soon. :)

howkj1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

Timelapse screenshots of 1 of 2 screens taken every 10 seconds.
6 frames / sec = 48 hours condensed into 36 minutes. Enjoy!

http://youtu.be/DdveEkvlPJo

howkj1 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

Ports to Mac, Windows, Linux are now available for your testing pleasure.

A screenshot of the editor during the competition portion has been uploaded as a maze guide for those who don't have patience. :)

Maze Map :
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/compo2/375043/41421-shot2.png

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:04pm

The mood was interesting, but being honest I'm terrible at mazes.

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I couldn't get the Windows port to run, it said it's missing a data folder?

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:06pm

@ReactorScram : I must have missed getting the data zipped up with the exe. I've re-zipped them and uploaded. It should hopefully fire up now. Thanks for checking out Jacob's Ladder!

ReactorScram says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

It ran this time, but I think I got stuck in the opening part. There were a lot of walls and huge red blocks, and a small blue block, and I could see angels ascending and descending in the distance, but none of the doors opened and I couldn't get to the ladder.

Troy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Your intro effects were very well done and I liked the mood of the game (low gravity jumping + music), but I didn't know where I was meant to go or what I was meant to do so I didn't do anything more than jump around for a bit.

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Game ruled i was sooo lost lol good mazes if it were a real maze id have starved to death. haha

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Intro screens took a little too long, and mouse controls were a bit too sensitive, but neat idea for a game... I got totally lost though, a minimap would have been helpful.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:10pm

The fog and music add up to make it pretty atmospheric, but I was at a loss of where to go and what to do :( I made it to heaven though :D

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Long intro screens but pretty cool. I got lost a lot, but then it is a maze game :)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Great graphics, nice music, I kind of got lost at one point but great job!

elemel says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Really liked the premise, soundscape and overall atmosphere, but gameplay fell a bit short.

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very atmospheric and some nice effects at times, never quite figured out what I was aupposed to do, though.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:25am

(spoiler)I got out of the maze and went where the angels were climbing and when I was there I saw the ladder. It was nice for a maze.

howkj1 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:48am

@thecolorhacker ... not a spoiler... :) ... climb those stairs! :D
(and thanks for playing)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:15am

I got out and close to the ladder - not sure if there was something else I could have done there - but I did love how it materialized when I got close, good choice of colors/textures there!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I did climb them :-)

WetDesertRock says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:06pm

So, the game was a maze. Thats alright, the main problem I have with it is that I couldn't see where I was going, and I moved too slow to get an easy grasp of where I was.

The building graphics also got boring and repetitive pretty fast. If you want to make in more of an experience, vary things up, detail will be your friend there. Many games get away with a lack of detail because of the intense gameplay the user is involved in. However, in a maze game you have to have other strengths, such as detail.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]