Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skyland - A Disconnected World

by AndyGates - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: For anyone that's interested, I spent a couple of hours the day after submission and fixed up the main issues I had with the version I submitted, so obviously don't factor it into your voting, but I'd love to hear any feedback on this updated version :)

http://andrew-gates.co.uk/LD30/PostSubmission/PostSubmission.html

In case of any broken links, all files are also available at:
http://andrew-gates.co.uk/LD30/

I've realised last minute that since I chose to use the recently released Unity 4.6 beta, web player builds may not work (there is a message saying it will only work on my computer, although I have tested it on another computer without unity 4.6 installed and it did work). So if the web player build happens to not work, there are builds for all platforms available.

Help to reconnect the fractured worlds of Skylands, devastated by the evil shadow demons!

Game
--------------------------------------------------

WASD - Move
Space - Shoot

Protect the bridge builder from the shadow demons as he reconnects the islands and leads the people to safety!

--------------------------------------------------

I didn't get quite as much done as I would have liked, but there is at least something somewhat playable, albeit with an awfully unfinished level design... but hey, its something :D

I intended to have it so when the builder dies, the other NPC's take his place, but due to too many bugs and too little time this had to be removed and limited to one builder. Oh well.

It may not be completely finished but hopefully there is enough to get the gist of what I'm going for.

Thanks for your time! :D
- Andy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#317Graphics3.48
#355Theme3.52
#514Fun3.09
#524Innovation3.19
#586Overall3.18
#642Mood2.88
#658Audio2.53
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:27am

Cool game! Just why does only one person build - The other ones don't want to get into trouble or what? :)

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

+1 for the Linux build!

drstik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Wow.. That was LOUD. I think you just gave my wife a heart attack lol. Nice game, love the pixel art. Might have been easier to control with a mouse, perhaps.

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

That was pretty fun. The start is actually the hardest part because all the enemy spawns are so close. The difficulty curve is the wrong way around :P . Nice work though.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

The control is a bit unintuitive because wasd and space are on the same side of the keyboard. Mouse would be a much better option since the player can have more control of the ship.

With that said the game is actually quite challenging and fun and it gets better after I got used to the control. It feels kind of unfair though when the monster just spawn right next to your guy.

One question, why there is only one people building and the others don't move?

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Nice one... Would love to do with a mouse. Could've added some twists to make it more fun i guess ...

AndyGates says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Thanks for playing guys! I did ALMOST have it so when the builder died another NPC would take his place, but I had a bug where they would quite often get stuck finding their way to the end of the bridge which I unfortunately didn't have time to fix, so the number of builders had to be limited to 1, literally about 10 minutes before the deadline!

The fact that most of the enemy spawns are right next to the start is also completely down to me running out of time!

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very fun!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Strangely, what I most loved about this was the control mechanic which some people didn't like :P It actually takes skill to aim and shoot, as opposed to the boring shooting with the mouse. I liked the game overall, but as you mentioned in one of your comments, I think it would have benefited from "multiple lives" in the way of one of the other people becoming the bridge builder.
Great entry, good luck!

Bubblman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Can't play, pressing keys does nothing.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Very nice! I like the premise, and the airship character the player controls moves in a very cool way. I liked the keyboard controls (as opposed to easy-mode mouse aiming), but found they didn't react how I expected. That was my only knock on an otherwise fun experience!

AndyGates says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

@Bubblman - It's a unity web player thing, you just need to reload the page, happens for me on a lot of unity web player games!

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Fun little game though I can't get very far. It's hard to aim at enemies with the way movement works.

damrem says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01am

I like the ideas of connecting islands with bridges and of an autonomous civilization!

ehtd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

A very nice concept, but the controls aren't quite responsive

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Most addicting game yet in my opinion, I also like how the controls work - a nice change from the typical way. As others said, the difficulty curve needs some work, and it's very frustrating to reach an island and be killed by a demon the moment you change the lair into a house...

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Nice art

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]