Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Starfighter Alliance

by fissionmoon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A federation of planets teams up to fight space pirates in Starfighter Alliance. Pilot ships from three different planets as you fight your way through a hoard of baddies and a tough boss.

Arrows to move, space to shoot, ships cycle on death.

Made in GameMaker 8. Sound Effects made in SFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#623Fun2.97
#791Audio2.22
#839Overall2.93
#895Mood2.58
#957Graphics2.45
#1073Theme2.28
#1145Innovation2.07

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37am

I'm having difficulty seeing incoming shots. This might be because I'm red/green colorblind, or maybe because I believe GM has a 30 fps cap which makes fast shmups problematic.

Anyway, nice graphics and well put together!

fissionmoon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

Thanks for the feedback, nintendoeats! The framerate probably had some effect, but the heavy use of red and green was probably mostly the problem. Sorry about that, it was pretty dumb of me to not notice that that might give some people trouble, next time I'll take that into account.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:57am

Nicely polished :)

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:30am

Ahh I like how different planets come together when you die to offer their services. It is pretty fitting with the theme, though I think some tweaking of the unique abilities of each ship would be a good idea. They seemed to be unbalanced. Overall, nice entry though :)

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

So loud :)

In GM you can change fps manualy.

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Nice Game like nintendo hard to se coming shots but else THIS IS GOOD

ArthurMaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28am

Ohh and check out my game...

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31am

It's hard! But i like that old feeling when you actually had to had skils :D ++

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

Congrats on finishing your game. There's definitely room to make it more awesome. I like how you give the player a different ship after every death

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

interesting game !

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Maybe a bit har. Simple mecanic but well made.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Not bad, but better graphics and some audio (or maybe there was audio, but Wine couldn't play it, I don't know) would improve this game a lot. Nevertheless, it was fun to play in its current form.

DvanderAart says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Good itteration of a classic concept. Works well!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]