Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

OfficeMaze

by Berail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Post-Compo Blog: http://berail.tumblr.com/

Soo...

OfficeMaze is Temple Run kind game connected with Maze games ( so it's kinda complete theme already here :P ).

Idea was that offices especially Bureaus are like different worlds with own ecosystems and laws. Even if it is our idea and creation lots of us don't like to go there and don't understand laws inside. So this is like 2 different world connected with 1 door.

You are common person no name nothing special. You want to live and work in USCD( United States of Cash and Dreams) to have better life than in this country. But You need Visa.
After long time They called You and told You that Visa is ready. Your only task is come to Embassy and take it.

After work around 5:50PM You get to embassy only to be informed that from some kind of procedures if You don't get Your Visa till 6PM it will be lost and You will need to wait again. Can You make it in 10 minutes to solve puzzle of office maze in Embasy where some belive that they have Infinite rooms and Corridors and others biive that some rooms have Portals to other Demenisions and almost everybody stay there Forever!

Game is ready in 70% sadly :(

Mechanicly it is 80-90 % I need to code some minor finctions and repair lots of bugs also need to add more variety to gameplay ofc. Graphicly is around 60% lots off planed models are missing, there is only 1 level. Also HighScore board is not working so far ( but if You Play Windows Version You can check Your Score after Winning in Data.txt File)

I Hope You will have some fun with it and come by later on my site ( will be add later) to see how progress is going outside Ludum Dare because i'm planning to finish this until it is playable and have some decent Graphics.

Little Note: Name,Graphics,Sounds are temporarly things so probably all will be different in final version :)

PROTIP#66: Mute Button is in right lower corner ( little red note)

List TO DO:
- Player Model and Animations
- Enemies Models And Animations ( and implementation )
- More Variants of Obstacles
- Music
- Proper Sounds
- Better UI
- More Levels
- Finally some better Intro !:D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#307Humor2.78
#868Graphics2.60
#926Audio1.80
#1036Mood2.27
#1069Theme2.29
#1149Overall2.39
#1159Innovation1.97
#1161Fun2.00

Comments

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:18am

I love the take on the theme/story line (I'd love to live in the USCD, haha!) I found navigating a little challenging, and somehow I ended up outside (?) xD, but I know its still in progress. Overall love the idea and hope you can polish the game up to completion! (:

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:19am

OK. We need keyboard controls!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57pm

keyboard control would have been a lot better, the mouse makes things too much dificult.

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Yeah i know but at start i wanted it to port it to Android but after some time i didn't have time for this so movement was "invented" for touchscreen purpose :)

KittyMac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20pm

definitely needs keyboard controls!

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Controls are too difficult. Keyboard input would be better I think. I got stuck out side for some reason but I understand that the game is not completely finished. I like the idea

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I know about this bug when You go outside of corridor ( it is only capable at 2-3 places and i belive only when You automaticly turn , exactly when You turn automaticly while staying in right "row".

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Nice idea and good work! But needs keyboard input, it would have been so much more fun.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Is there any reason why you did not use keyboard? :) Would make much nicer experience (as already pointed out)

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Like i was writing in comment :P I wanted to port it to Phones and ristly desigh controls for touchscreen but after some time i decide to create windows only version and controls stays what they were. I will recreate some parts of game and especially controls if there is so much negative feedback (not complaining i'm happy that someone is playing my game and want to leave some feedback :D)

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39am

Funny game ;p with weird controls but well...
(Works with Wine)

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:45pm

weird control, a post compo with phone or keyborad will be fine...

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I also ended up outside. :) Good luck polishing it up. First priority should be new controls.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:39pm

The graphics are a little blurry and basic, but it's a good game overall.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I also ended up outside. :) Good luck polishing it up. First priority should be new controls.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Cool little story, controls are really difficult. The other elements are good so it's a shame the player character is a white cube...

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:10am

Very neat game. Controls as people have mentioned could have been better but also just wanted to let you know about a bug in case you wanted to fix it or v2 for later or whatever.

http://i.imgur.com/Ro2sLml.png

Berail says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:13am

Bugs are in proccess of destruction so in version 1.0 or v2 or smth everything should work well :) I'm recreating map creation process and that should repair bug with going outside :)

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Apart from the player, the objects have nice 3D models. There are a few things that I would improve in the game though. The keyboards controls really make things harder than they should be. And sometimes you feel like you're in the middle of two rows ( if i have a table in front of me, my left part should collide with it but my right won't and I'm a the right side of the screen). And why not make paperwork give you some additionnal free time ?

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Hi there. Interesting take on templerun. Enjoyed it for a while. Agree with other commentators, keyboard controls ftw, mouse adds nothing. Shame no sound (Chrome/W8.1)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:13am

Interesting idea, but keyboard controls would have helped so much (I realize you were implementing a touch interface though). The movement from side-to-side and around corners was a little jarring - I think if that was smoothed out a bit, it would add a lot.

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:46am

Looks interesting, but "right mouse button" is non existent on my notebook. Why not use keyboard-controls?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]