Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Between Worlds

by Eduardo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Four worlds are connected; you can travel between 2 each time; you can travel to a different maps if you reach that thing that looks like a house; You can't travel to somewhere where there's a wall.

Control:

Arrows or WASD; UP or W to Jump;

X or L to switch between worlds;

M to mute the music;

Bugs:

Sometimes when falling, you can pass through the walls.

Sometimes you can't switch to another world because you are too close to a wall in the current map.

(I didn't use any engine in this game).


-----------------------------------------------------------
Post-Compo Version
- Fix bugs
- Fix some level design mistakes
- Juicy map transition
- Player sprites
- Walk sound effect
- Better Gravity
- Better performance
- New Music
- Bunny hop jump (hold to jump higher)
- Controls improvements

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#71Theme3.96
#153Overall3.67
#164Fun3.57
#182Audio3.40
#200Mood3.45
#203Graphics3.72
#231Innovation3.59
#568Humor2.30

Comments

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I love how you show the alternate world in the background.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Good take on the theme and fun to play!

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Pretty fun game. The jump and switch took me a bit to figure out, but it was very satisfying to solve that puzzle.

Nice job!

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Real nice game but i'm a little bit lost by the level design, i'm not sure of where i have to go.
For the rest, the graphics and the sound are amazing(like Thomas was alone in speed way), the idea works pretty well, even if i'm not sure of "how" and "why" it works.

But i can stay hours in this kind of maze.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Good but spent most time on randomly roaming spamming spacebar. There is a bug where you jump outside of the level
http://i.imgur.com/ioySsnQ.png

Good conceptual material, enemies or hazards would help.

brokenbeach says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Seems like you put a lot of effort into level design. Visually, the game is great. Nice simple shapes and colours which I'm a big fan of.

I did however, encounter what seemed to be a problem in level design, where I was stuck and couldn't switch between worlds, no matter where I went.

Aside from that, really cool game.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Nice, simple idea and good execution. The whole game has a nice feel to it, I love the graphics and audio. I could probably play this for hours if there were enough levels.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44am

What the hell is going on here?
Visually looks pretyy good but I can't understand logic of connections =(

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Wow! Great use of the theme, nice presentation, and fun gameplay! Music was a little repetitive, but it was cool how it got quieter when in one world.

Eduardo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

@Fanatrick it was a known bug, but now it's fixed. thanks!

Eduardo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:13pm

@brokenbeach i fix a bug, so i think now this was fixed too!

Eduardo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17pm

@Noah Ratcliff it's a short music, i didn't had time to make longer.

tjxx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:48am

Interesting concept and a little addicting. Nicely done!

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30am

Very interesting. The last few sections seemed to be quite a lot easier than a few of the middle part. Well done though.

gandalf1209 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very cool! Very neatly designed!

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:46am

very impressive! I love the compact level design all on one screen. the music and simple art style were fantastic. great work.

nesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45am

Nice game mechanic, though a little confusingly fast-paced at times you start to get used to it. For those with slower reaction times / poorer memories of the two world layouts, it might be good to slow down the transition between worlds - eg slowing time or pausing time while one fades in and the other fades out. Good range of challenges derived from one mechanic :)

Zolmeister says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45am

This game is fantastic! Great idea, and well executed. Good job sir.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09am

I find the game to ge charming, with good mechanics and graphics are great as well.I got stuck in a room in which you continuously fall. Good work!

miotatsu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35am

I like it! However, there was no sound for me. I'm running Firefox 31.0 on Linux

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Neat!

Eduardo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:52pm

@miotatsu I'm on linux too (ubuntu), i tried firefox 31.0 and works great. I'm using howler.js to play music and sound effects, and it have a good browser support. Maybe you hit "M" and mute the music?

Eduardo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53pm

@nesis i want to make a juiciness version, i'm working in this now!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

That's well linked to the theme and the gameplay is good! I ended up getting stuck too ^_^"

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Hi there. Love the idea, especially the way you can see both worlds at once. Good sounds and platform physics too.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Good idea and perfectly executed, I think I got stuck at one point, the "switching world" button wasn't working anymore.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Nice color, well done. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

fizzd says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Wow, nice level design and I like how the background music becomes low-passed in a different dimension!

Fazz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Great concept and game mechanics. I liked the music too. Would be a really interesting one to develop further. I'm sure you could build some really elaborate puzzles with this as a base.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

I liked the screen wrapping and the overlay of the different maps a lot. Good colors too.

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Nice entry, the mechanic worked well and the graphics are quite polished!

I managed to finish it - I'm not sure though, since I reached the "The end" screen, but it suggests there might be more to see... Except the player seems to be laggy and there's nowhere I can go. I'm left curious and eager for more ^^

Xanjos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Pretty good take on the theme. I loved the rather minimalistic design and I really liked the whole switching worlds mechanic.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:03am

Really nice game, love the mechanic!

Eduardo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

@Z.B.G.E. that "the end" screen it's the last of this game, the message it's a clue about a possible sequence, i have some more ideas. :)

anssipe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:02am

Quite polished for a 48h entry. Good puzzles, nice graphics and the theme is used very well. Cool little game. Pushed me to finish every level. Great job!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

Weird but interesting :)

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Very nice game! I like the clean but detailed look. And it's really fun to play! Well done!

Also, I like that little black hairy rectangle guy of the post-compo version. Perfect match!

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:57pm

That was fun. Nice job blending active and inactive worlds. Aside from the generic player-box, I really liked the visuals you choose.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Pretty nice indie platformer (I definitely had the "switch between worlds to solve puzzles" idea as well when brainstorming).
Didn't like the sections when you needed to switch world mid-jump and were only in a 1x1 space.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:04am

Cool!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]