Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alice

by synchingfeeling - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connecting the worlds of games and literature. A mix of speed typing and a good read, with a crazy 8-bit feel. See how much of the full novel of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland you can get through before the time runs out or take the pressure off a little in lifetime mode where your progress will be saved.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#404Humor2.56
#429Mood3.14
#477Fun3.13
#508Innovation3.23
#554Audio2.72
#724Overall3.05
#808Theme2.87
#965Graphics2.43

Comments

TMKCodes says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:37am

This is quite awesome! 10385 score now.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:07am

Wow! Very clever, very avant-garde. The sounds and flashing lights are hypnotic and you quickly find yourself reciting the words of the story to yourself as you type them... really draws you in.

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39am

wow. i did not expect that from the screenshots. great!

xoxopanda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Fun, and nice color combinations!

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Holy crap the pace of that felt amazing. I got 1611, pretty poor but I loved the game! Very interesting take on the theme and overall just all round great. Audio fit well with the colours. I can't get over how good the pace was, it ramped up nicely and felt great. Good job!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Great idea!
Really surprising.
I just don't like the sound, if is was to difficult the game, I understand. Is really difficult stay in game :/
But the use of theme was really really amazing.

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Very nice. The colors and sound are really hypnotizing, and i love a good typing game.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Very fun, really nicely done! :)

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I like how you interpreted the theme, it seems solidly programmed, I just wish you had made the spaces typeable, because I hit the space bar everytime and it got really frustrating. Oh, also, the sounds were a bit annoying after a few times

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Really unique and interesting! My only complaint is that the sound you used when the timer was close to expiring was really loud. Even after turning my volume down it was a bit hard on my ears. Otherwise, good job!

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33am

It was really odd experience. Great concept but it's too unusual way of reading, it's too complicated. Maybe it's because of my english that should be better!

ploogle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51am

Innnnteresting....

I got pretty far :) Unique idea, though I don't know that it fit the theme very well.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I enjoyed this way more than I thought I would. The colours and sounds are immense and really give you a desperate sense of urgency. Great little game!

chongdashu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Interesting game! It gets pretty hard quickly if you mis-type a letter, since you don't know where you are in the word! But I guess that's part of the challenge! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

That was quite the clever little idea. Would be a good way to really study a book closely :)

I do not like the sounds, they are way too jarring.

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I really like the audio/visual feedback. It's an interesting take on a typing game. That being said, I don't see a real link to the theme. The "Connecting games to it" angle feels like a reach. It is a really cool idea though, and I enjoyed playing.

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Weird but fun xD

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Hahaha, loved this. Simple and fun, loved the atmosphere, love the visuals, the pace is awesome.. this is simple and a lot of fun.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

Hmm I mostly liked it, very unique and intersting take on the theme. But the audio freaked me out, once you made one mistake it sounded loud and annoying for the rest of the book? And when I made a mistake, I started from the beginning of the word but that made the time fly by. Overall it's a nice entry though! :)

psychonull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

Nice and really funny. I loved the sounds!

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:37am

I'm bad at this... 1062 :(

Loved the concept, really smart. The visuals and sounds were perfect for it too. Great entry!

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Haha - great idea! I can't say it would be my favourite way to read a book though. ;)

The visuals and sounds make things feel appropriately panicky and I had a lot of fun playing. Thanks!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Interesting. Woud be even better if you'd see which letter's you already typed, and also so the next word coming up, like a long line of words scrolling through.

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Haha, great idea :P enjoyable.

local minimum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Interesting concept of having players re-write a famous book under very disturbing and stressful circumstances. Would be really interesting if it was a coop-games where you get a random start position in the book and try to type as far as possible and the objective is a joint re-write of the book. To connect with the content of the book I would have opted for the disturbing effects to be more psychedelic and music too.

Really nice idea though.

WiErD0 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Cool idea, really fast paced. After about ten seconds I felt myself almost saying each word out loud, instead of focusing on what the whole sentence meant, so it really draws you in.I do find the music a bit sudden and jarring though...

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Oh man, the passive beeping noises that aren't your keystrokes are incredibly irritating. With the right backing music (especially considering the source material), it could a weirdly hypnotic game.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Thanks for the feedback all, agree with most. I should have probably spent more time on the audio - fine for a 'challenge' mode but incredibly irritating for a general slow paced experience.

>>local minimum - fantastic ideas, makes me realise how little I explored the concept

CeriseGhost says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:05am

Very cool idea!

S0rax says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:59am

The idea is cool, but I would have liked a softer sound.

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

se1by says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Nice game, but the sounds were pretty iritating

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I wasn't expecting this at all! Apart from our game sharing part of the name with your game, I liked how you used a narrative in your game to take on the theme. Interesting mechanics ala "the typing of the dead". Great job!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

If only there was a cursor showing the current character and if only the spaces were typeable I'd probably have finally been able to read Alice in Wonderland. But alas, it wasn't meant to be! I did get a few lines done as is, I guess it's a start.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]