Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

F29

by JUJU - Jam Entry

There's one known bug: the way you attack is completely broken. The player character should swing the torch and stop, but due to, uh, "limitations", you can attack infinitely by holding space.
The platforms in level two are also broken-ish, but the player can get by.
Other than that, all you need is the arrow keys and the spacebar.

Regarding to the theme, it is very subtle, but you actually warp between two worlds in the game (it always happens when the scary music starts to play). I guess it's more like an alternative reality, though.

Anyway, we are:
Fernando Neto: Programming, Level Design
Juliano Reis: Game Design, Level Design, Sound and Music, Writing
Rafael Brum: Art, Music

Hope you guys enjoy our little game.

EDIT: Let us know if you figure out the plot in the comments! ;D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#432Audio(Jam)2.93
#502Graphics(Jam)3.07
#665Fun(Jam)2.47
#668Theme(Jam)2.27
#695Overall(Jam)2.69
#754Innovation(Jam)1.87
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48am

Those are some creepy horses =P

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15am

Good job guys. I just had some problems on 2nd Stage, i died a lot trying to jump through the platforms :P

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

really eerie !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

The platforming is a bit iffy at times, but overall its a nice solid platformed with decent art and atmosphere. Well done

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30am

Nice little game. When I hold space, then the torch is a realy undefeatable weapon... godlike ;) Then after jumping a lot and falling a lot, I was killd by one of those blue running dogs(?) and then I have to start at the beginning at the dungeon... This is hardcore ;) A few more checkpoint would be really nice.. Good job so far

Geti says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:31am

Some of the more punishing and frustrating platforming I've come across this LD :^) could have had a smaller collision box and a better jump and been significantly more fun; the current "jump after you leave the platform and land before you land" and tiny windows made for a very annoying play time :P

The light effect was pretty neat, the infinite attacking certainly helped stave off the horse things, haha.

Joror says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Interesting platformer, the guy made me think about Walter White :P.
Story is a bit unclear - did I miss something at the beginning?

whalebot says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:25am

I don't think I'll ever learn to appreciate pixel perfect jumps... That being said, nice work with this.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:30am

Didn't make it all the way to the end. Kept dying on the second level while jumping from one platform to another lower down. I like the graphics, wish there was a little more animation tho, and the music could need some work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]