Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worms! and ants

by Otopkin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In <b>... ok so I can't HTML here. WORLD OF WORMS VS ANTS SIMULATOR: MODERN WARFARE 3 - GAME OF THE YEAR COMIC SANS GOLDEN SWAG EDITION (yes I lied about the name in the title, deal with it!) you play as the worm Captain Dum in a post-ant-apocalyptic scenario. You lead a small (since I was too lazy to make ti bigger) military / survival / idontknow crew. Basicly you shoot ants and... shoot ants. From time to time you read conversations too. It's awesome!

Disclaimer: don't take the game seriously. Except the serious parts. Them you should take seriously. You know what... never mind, take whatever you like seriously!

by the way sometimes when stuff happen your dudes (and ladies, i ain't sexist) may stop shooting for no apparent reason. it's mostly because i'm dumb and i can't code for crap. if that happens... well go back to the menu (if it lets you) and restart the level. if you don't feel like... well it was nice to meet you, dont forget to leave a rating (unless it's low, in which case forget to leave a rating ;) )

all kinds of feedback is very much appreciated

also the boss level is missing BECAUSE REASONS. unity get your shit together (it's not my fault, it's unity's)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Humor3.71
#207Fun3.50
#209Mood3.43
#324Overall3.44
#495Innovation3.25
#528Audio2.75
#615Graphics3.00
#1080Theme2.26
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

eatsleepindie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:52am

Awesome work all around: great characters, entertaining story line, fun and challenging game play and great replay value!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

Damn, you put a lot into this game, solid entry :)

MintArcade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22am

Cool game, will wait for v4.21 and maybe some DLC ;) Awesome gameplay.

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33am

I'm really impressed that you managed to create a decent RTS in 48h, with a campaign nonetheless! =D

klusi0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

Really cool game! You've put a lot of work in it to finish it in just 48 hours.
Only thing that might be better is to make second level a bit easier :D It requires to much skill from first time player.
To sum up - brilliant game!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Nice job! Unfortunately, during the boss fight, my troops decided to randomly stop shooting (even though I tried to issue commands to them, nothing worked) :( so the ants overran us and ruled the worm kingdom hence forth. Oh well, funny story and it is awesome that you fit a whole campaign in during the compo. Nice job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Great game! I really like the way how you implemented inderect control of AI units. Good job!

Ramori says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Pretty nice game. Reminds me veeery much of Worm Wars, an old game made in the games factory or something like that. Same setting, similar sense of humor and gameplay.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49pm

When I started making it I was straight forward making a clone of Worm Wars :-). Glad someone got it.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Hi there... Amazing amount of content for 48h. Story mode a huge thing to do. Great job!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:20pm

haha the name is perfect... cause its fits the theme :D Nice game...

H1S2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

A score for how many ants you beat in the last part would be fun. Great game - good job.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Pretty cool. It was quite funny and that is probably where most points will go. I would have liked it though if the music was a little more "pronounced" and played the entire time, not just quietly at some parts.

Otopkin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

My ritual of making music:
-find a random drum sound
-find another drum sound (preferably a quieter one)
-mix them in until it Hopefully starts sounding like something
-get down the volume to about 1.337% so nobody'll hear it
-make a mute button that's gonna be big enough so that nobody will miss it
-pray

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Hah, cute and fun. Good work.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

When loading unity web player said invalid data file. :(

Denisre3 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Unity says that the data file is invalid.

Otopkin says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

Well, it's just me being me - stupid. I probably shouldn't have built it using the "ONLY RUNS ON YOUR COMPUTER!!!!!11!!1! BAZINGA" thing. Regardless should be OK now

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]