Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Conformity

by Healthire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Strategic puzzle game about converting the entire universe to green.

Use combinations of connected planets to gain the advantage over evil red!

To use the source or .love file you need to have Love2D. http://love2d.org/

Love2D is cross platform so using the .love file you can play on windows/linux/mac.

To play on windows, just unpack the Windows zip and use the .exe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Theme4.04
#65Overall3.85
#113Innovation3.85
#148Fun3.60
#242Mood3.38
#317Graphics3.48
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Monofraps says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45am

I think you forgot to bundle the OpenAL library in the Windows zip.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31am

I sure did, that's fixed now. Thanks!

ianh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19am

Great idea and execution! I like the clean graphical style and the smooth difficulty curve of the tutorial.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

I was unable to play the windows download. It first told me that MSVCR110.dll was missing, and when I downloaded a copy and put it in the folder, it gave me an unable to start message (0x00000c7b.)

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41am

Absolutely love this! The learning curve is smooth as heck, and the puzzles get more and more interesting. Such a simple setting and so much variety in the puzzles. Kudos!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

I get an error on the Windows: The Program can't start because MSVCR110.dll is missing from your computer.

The .love worked though.

Great game. I've seen some with a similar idea, but this is definitely the smoothest I've come acrosos.

MCPGNZ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

Incredibly fun game, only thing that i would change is make planet types more graphically different.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07am

I'll upload a 32 bit version too, maybe that's the problem with msvcr110.dll.

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nevermind I forgot to include it in the zip, redownload if you got the msvcr110.dll problem.

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46am

Very nice puzzle game :) I made to the first fortified planet, I got stuck there :P

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

It's great how effective your design is. You know immediatly what is going on. Great game!

Clavus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Nice puzzling game. Didn't get past the circular one, but was fun. (oh balls, the solution to that one is literally in the screenshot...)

OFF says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I'm really jealous...
1-you make me discover Love2D who had been perfect for my game.
2-your game rules are so simple that everyone understand it (mine is hard to explain, more to understand)
3-the puzzle design is amazing, each level bring new challenge, mastering of some technic or new kind of planet
4-Except for the title of each, i'm pretty sure that the game could be made procedural to create infinite levels.

You kill me ;)

There is 3 issues :
- lack of sound
- a RESTART function when you know that you have missed the good path.
- the control is style weird for me : made link and broke link between green planet could be made more clearly actionable.

For the rest, great theme, nice look, great physics, and a lot of levels. What else do you want? ;)

TimeKiller!

suurin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

The gameplay is very nice and caught my attention very fast. I like the game very much.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

Loved this one, I quite like puzzle games and this was really good also the graphics fit perfectly for the style of game, good job!

miwuc says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Awesome puzzle game with lots of levels. The mechanics take a while to sink in but later levels get really interesting. However, I got stuck on "blockade" :/ Can you give me a hint?

The graphics are very smooth and clean. A few UI tweaks that could make it even better:
- More obvious highlighting of the currently selected planet
- Explanation and or more visual feedback about the radius of action
- More obvious difference between military and fortified planets. I kept forgetting which was wich. Alternatively, an on screen cheat sheet might do.

Great job overall!

MaesK says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Nice game design, simple graphics, but effective. I really enjoyed the mechanic, although I didn't get the strategy until I lost some rounds, despite the clear-as-water tutorial :D My bad!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:50pm

The gameplay is just brilliant. And there are so many levels. This is plain awesomeness. Especially the movement. Half the time I found myself playing around with the movement and connection mechanics, instead of solving the puzzle =P I would have wished for a bit of sound tough. And maybe the possibility to restart a level, if it is obvious that you messed it up. But other than that, 5/5 obviously!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

very interesting mechanic, I enjoyed this!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]