Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Battle of Colorado beatles

by AmberStorm - Jam Entry

Game story
After theme was announced it took me almost 8h to think of some original ideas. I didn't want to make something with literally "connected worlds" (I knew there will be a lot of such games), so I came up with this idea, which shaped and changed in the process of developing it. In this game you'll see 2 "worlds" together - casual people living their lives and war, which happens just around them - you'll find a lot of such examples in real world. So - I made "hitting 2 birds with 1 rock" - you have to pick out bugs from your potatoes, which is pretty casual thing to do, and use them to destroy occupying forces with them, which is war :D

Art:
Main character, first soldiers and obstacles were made in very beginning as placeholders. I was planning to redo them later, but as I ran out of time I decided, that they're looking good enough and just continued to draw everything else in the same style... so, art took me pretty small amount of time, as it's really simple... and I like it :D

Programming:
Well... that was pretty tough... I had only about 1 month of experience in HTML5 engines and I encountered a lot of problems (mostly - something just didn't work), and couple of times I had to redo everything from scratch (on the 2nd day I even thought that I won't make it on time)... surprisingly, I somehow did :D

Updates:
________________
v2:
*Fixed missing sounds;
*Dealt with memory leak
*Adjusted gameplay difficulty (a bit easier now)
*Fixed spawning in obstacles, which resulted in stucked movement
*Fixed flickering transition screens
*Did a bit of optimization on audio weight
*Fixed enemy shooting after they're ded
*There were some game elements, which stayed on screen after game restarting... fixed it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Humor(Jam)3.76
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#459Fun(Jam)2.90
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#559Graphics(Jam)2.93
#638Innovation(Jam)2.50
#682Overall(Jam)2.72
#741Theme(Jam)1.86
#2027Coolness17%

Comments

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07am

So this is about a granny who loads her shotgun with living bugs while jumping around and shooting soldiers who are stealing vegetables? This game is so what the f*** xD Anyway, the gameplay is pretty rigid but good laughter here.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35am

nice game , can be polished and become fun game , although i don't see the relation with theme :D

OathAlliance says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:52am

An interesting game to say the least. I did notice a few technical issues(lives not counting down).


I'll say it again, interesting game.

Ofursnati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48am

Your character creation is very nice.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Really like the artwork, story, and music choice. The platforming action is a little slow, but it wasn't too bad. Those bosses are pretty hard. I never made it past the second chapter.

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Nice humor but rest of it.. You guys can improve this a lot more, but had fun playing it , nice work :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I found the controls a little floaty. Also, perhaps a NSFW warning!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12pm

That will show those Colorado Bastards!

Humor is definitely this game's strong point.
Bosses have been hard, but I finally managed to beat it.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I'm from Colorado (well, the American state, anyway)... sadface.

But hey! A great showing for a Ludum Dare. Great music and animations, even if taking the theme a bit loosely.

cstudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06am

I realy like this game, graphics are nice, sound effect when you hit someone with a gun is funny :D After you almost finished a lvl, you have to fight with "raid boss", nice.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

That was some good humor. Good well rounded entry for a shooter.

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:22am

I found the game a little hard, but it is nice to play. I liked the story and the politic situation it criticizes. The music puts everything in a country-funny style. The artwork is good. Good job on the random generated obstacles. PS: There are some unreachable bugs at times.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:16am

Nice job ! Sometimes bettles are too high to be catched ;)

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:28am

I have no idea what this has to do with connected worlds, but its funny

Scott Baker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Humor and fun was great. I don't really see the theme here though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]