Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connie's World: There's an APP ... for THAT!?

by ShivaFang - Jam Entry

BY: Justin White & Andrew Sadavoy
Connie was hiding from some mean girls and turned to her friends on Fakebook for help. A mysterious stranger sends her an app that lets her cross between worlds!

Help Connie escape the mall!
'A' and 'D' to Move, 'Z' to switch worlds 'C' to activate the camera 'Click' to take/place a photo and 'W' to jump!
'ESC' to quit the game in fullscreen mode.

Mac and Linux versions are untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Innovation(Jam)3.52
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#307Humor(Jam)2.58
#626Overall(Jam)2.82
#660Mood(Jam)2.41
#662Fun(Jam)2.48
#742Graphics(Jam)2.11
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:05am

Some really cool concepts, but I got frustrated with trying to get up to the 2nd level, getting caught in the stairs in between dimensions or falling through the floor and then restarting all the way back to the beginning of the tutorial.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10am

Overall, interesting mechanics, but the graphics could use some work and it could use a bit more polish. I think a more refined version of this after the competition could be really cool!

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

Pretty nice game! I just didnt like it that you get teleported to the start

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

I thought I was going to get sweet vengeance for my ruined handbag?! Nice game, that was fun.

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17am

@Scott Baker - planned for full story game :D Wished we had more time.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12am

I love the camera function!!! Next time maybe you should spend a bit more time on the graphics, though :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11am

Good use of theme.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

Interesting mechanics but the two feel like they've been awkwardly patched together rather than smoothly complementing each other. I like the direction you went with the social media and teenage drama stuff though.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

This game was really girly, but still well thought out!

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Quite fun, I like the mechanics, especially the camera function.
With some more polish, especially improving the graphics, this would have been awesome.
Some walking sections could also have been shortened imo and adding music and sfx would have done a lot to improve the feeling.

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice concept esp. the camera part!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I liked the camera, although it's a bit tricky to do at first using a trackpad.

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:23pm

@ElectricSeagull - Didn't have a track pad in mind when we designed the feature. Will think about it when we work on the complete version.

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Cool concept, I did not know there was an app for that ;)
Some more work on the controls would have paid off I think, still, I enjoyed it. Thanks for your work!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:36am

Cool use of the theme. The tutorial was a bit frustrating since I had to start from the beginning every time I died, and I was forced to read a lot of the text quickly because it could only be seen in the astral plane. It would be nice to see this expanded on / polished more because it's a really neat concept. Some sound and music would definitely help, too. Great work!

neosam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:33am

Extra points for the camera idea!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:10pm

interesting concept for sure

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Nice idea, needs more work with the graphics. I played on a qwertz keyboard and the z key fell really far from the rest of the controls :)
Thanks for the Linux build!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]