Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

MMOCRAFT - A CONNECTED WORLD

by jdavidson091 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, here it is. My first Ludum submisstion. You can tell I have a programming background - I made all the art in the last 30 minutes ;) Learned a lot, had a ton of fun. Built everything pretty much from scratch.

My game is a commentary on our MMO worlds we play on. Although we connect to a vast, different world when we log on, the interaction is superficial and skin deep. You simulate a man in his room, playing an mmo - why, you aren't sure. What's the end goal? That's for you to interpret, and reflect on yourself when you log onto your MMO of choice.

There was bugs with implementing an "end-game" state where the game shuts off and tells you go go outside, and I'd like to improve the art and add "real" animations, but I'm happy with the text interaction. Enjoy! Can't wait to try everyone else's games :)

Source should all be on github, and I gave a dropbox download link for the executable jar. No viruses, don't worry. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Mood3.76
#189Humor3.06
#522Audio2.76
#623Theme3.17
#801Innovation2.83
#829Overall2.94
#1090Fun2.28
#1175Graphics1.83
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33am

Goodness, this is kinda depressing...
Well, it's a good start for what it is, and the message gets across. It would have been nice to have more of a progression, some manner of storytelling and an end.
Still, not bad.

danbo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48am

Every game is a MMO these days, or grindy enough. It's sad, kinda...

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:13am

It does show the truth, and is a good message, depressing, but good nonetheless. I hate MMOs and always have, I just don't understand why people play them. Most people play them solo too, without any social aspect, which makes even less sense.

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15am

@Logan thanks, I would have definitely liked to include more progression/storytelling and had an end in mind, just got caught up with implementation and programming. Building a game this quickly is definitely a learning process!

@danbo very true, I wish I had more time to flesh out what I wanted to say and make it more of a "real" game, but I've gone through the MMO hoops too many times and the empty feeling it leaves within you isn't healthy. I'd like to create a more complete game to reflect on those topics.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16am

It's like you know me! :(

But seriously, an interesting take on the theme. Would like to have seen more interaction.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:20am

I liked the sound effects. For some reason the PUP option didn't seem to do anything.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21am

I'm not sure how I feel about this.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09am

Oh man I loved this!
Definitely the funniest I've played, and super accurate, too.
Man, reminded me of my old mmo days.(to be fair, I only bought WoW because my best friend moved away, so we both got it so we could still hang out), but mostly I was a lonely loser.
But dang, i really enjoyed this; I wish there was more content, please add more. I will play

oh, and ha, I noticed username is kvothe; any relation to Name of the Wind?

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:02pm

@Miziziziz yup ;) was waiting for someone to notice that. And yeah, I really wish I had more time because I wanted to expand this to a full-length experience rather than a "proof of concept". Thanks for playing!

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:26pm

@KevRevDev Sorry, that's "PVP", like "player vs player". Sorry if my font wasn't clear

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25am

I almost found myself actually wanting to level up in this...

Sanguine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

Very moody due to the good audio. Like others said, some more interaction would be cool.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice way to catch up with the theme. As Resonious said, at some point I also was engaged curious about leveling up which is kinda "interesting". Is that simple token of progress enough to keep you playing, even without any idea or control on what you are actually doing "in game"?

:D Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cool innovation, good job overall!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Very moody and intelligent sound design. Simple game, but a good take on the theme.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:36am

Message received.. I got the same feeling as when I was playing little inferno, which I guess is a good thing :)
Top marks for mood!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]