Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds: Filllight

by FurtherForm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wander before the storm hits the worlds and ignite the lights along paths.
Getting prepared and fully enlightened is a challenging task.

First gamejam entry ever.
Tiny refined and atmospheric pathfinder.
Controls: WASD


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#21Graphics4.40
#236Mood3.40
#402Overall3.35
#625Innovation3.07
#651Fun2.93
#687Theme3.07
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I actually REALLY love the art on this. Like you really pushed it, and it looks amazing. The controls are way too glide-y for me though.

jrun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:56pm

The atmosphere created by lights, sfx and music is nice

Natman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

Basically I have to agree with DrHahn here. Your game really shines on the aesthetics, but the gameplay could use some work.

The central puzzle (to light all the pillars) would be so much easier if the worlds weren't too large to see all at once.

The graphics also make it look like the ball would fall off instead of hitting into the edges like walls. Maybe the game would be more fun if it was about avoiding the edges? Just a thought.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

Thanks to each one of you for the insightful comments. Unity particle tools made the on atmosphere possible. I agree on controls and seeing too little at once. Instead of adding the borders on the road, better approach would be to change the player from ball to a character, that would explain the ability to stay on the paths. Adjustments here and there and an extra world would make for a decent update.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I can't get past the blue screen with the black shapes on it, wasd moves the shapes around but I can't find a game in here.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

As the others, I liked the atmosphere, but for it to be an interesting game, it probably needs some more interesting puzzle than just lighting all the lightposts, or at least some interesting twists to the concept (something that uses the "connected worlds" part more, perhaps?). The two worlds were different, but still similar in tone, which was super cool.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Skyfish: are you certain you're talking about the same game? There shouldn't be such screen. Maybe it is bugging on some platform, huh :/
ZeppelinCaptain. Thanks for the good feedback, something more would make it more interesting. The idea behind the (more completed) puzzle would have been that to find the route for lighting all the lights, one has to teleport around the worlds different worlds as one single world would be impossible to light up on it's own. Works so and so, I'm not certain it is possible to finish the game with current design without the benefits occasionally buggy triggers. There is one light that is intended to be lighted up as the last one, as you it is placed to the only dead end in the game.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Pretty cool, though the controls aren't as tight as I'd like...

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40pm

+art
+music
-controls (stop when touching)
-light of ball

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I'll echo what others have said. Amazing art, not so amazing controls. It feels like there's too much friction on the player and that it takes too long to reach your top speed. In general too much momentum.

anssipe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Nice graphics and mood here. Rolling ball is not probably the best solution for this kind of game as a character.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:57pm

The controls were really odd, but after a while I was able to orient myself. The setting looked great though.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:43am

The aesthetics are really good. I like how handle it all very abstract.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]