Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Long way around

by Nanocentury - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Some fool has gone and messed with the omnidimentional crystal and shattered the barriers between realities.
You must reach the crystal and fix it.

WASD to walk.
SHIFT and CTRL will let you peek into other realities.
Q and E will let you step between realities.

A few tips:
You can walk freely around green tiles and onto orange tiles.
Orange tiles will stop you walking but not stepping.
Red tiles will kill you if you step onto them, but you cannot just walk onto them.
Red tiles cannot hurt you when you are peeking.


Made using:
Game Maker: Studio,
bsfx,
GIMP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#554Theme3.26
#653Humor2.19
#791Audio2.22
#891Innovation2.70
#1073Mood2.15
#1101Overall2.52
#1179Fun1.91
#1202Graphics1.57
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Too messy.. You can't put black text on dark blue background.. Also it's not intuitive and not even well teach how to play..I can't make a step without find myself dead.. I don't know what I'm missing

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Interesting concept, but graphical style was... confusing, shall we say.

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09pm

my eyes! mate, I can't read the stuff. I just can't, and whenever I can, it says I failed. everything is too fast, too messy. but even with these stuff, I can understand the concept which is good.

Nanocentury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12pm

haha, yea. sorry about the black on black writing...
I only noticed what I had done too the backgrounds when it was too late to change.
The trick is to 'Peek' into other worlds before stepping or to 'Step' while 'Peeking' for a 'double step' effect.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Couldn't read the info with that crazy bg. I feel like I was missing something, I kept dying.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50pm

The concept for this game is nice, but like other people said, I didn't love the graphics. Also, you mentioned you can step while peeking, but I couldn't do it, am playing on Chrome if that helps.

dix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I liked the idea, the main page tho is a bit hard to read, the game itself was really hard at first, then I kinda got the idea of how to play it and I was enjoying it, but then I moved up while peeking with ctrl, and my chrome tab vanished xD
Nice job anyway :D I guess it would be awesome with LSD XD

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Cool enough idea, but not that good of an execution. Learning how it worked was quite unclear.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:06am

Great submission! I'm sure youll make it even better next time! If you get comfortable with GameMaker you should move onto Unity next. It's probably one of the next step game engines.

RaycoSantana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

Interesting, the graphics are bit weird but is a good game, good job!

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I liked the idea, but the implementation is not the best. But good effort!

Zathnic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I like the idea! The controls were a little hard to understand, but once I got them, it felt like a good mechanic to build mazes with. The game would be more challenging if there was a limited number of worlds you could switch to, because you can keep switching until you reach a world that has enough grass tiles next to you.

Kojan says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

I had a lot of difficulties to find out how it worked. Maybe some clear instructions would have been welcomed. The concept is interesting though

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]