Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Capture the mighty orb!

by Vermacian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a glorious cube and fight your way to get the orb.

You walk with WASD or arrows (Who would have guessed)
You use levers by pressing E
You can change the music audio (If not you like repetitive music) and quit the game by pressing ESCAPE
To attack, hold the left mouse button. The longer you hold the more damage you deal. Release the button to attack.

Have fun! :D

Tools:
- Unity
- Blender
- FL studio 11 (i have no idea what im doing)
- Audacity

Please tell me if you cant get the game running so i can look into it.

Also i might recommend to just mute your computer since the music and the sound effects arent great at all... Cuz i have no expertise in those fields :S

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

apiotrw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44pm

It is detected as a virus

Vermacian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Srsly 0_0, ill look into it

Vermacian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Finally got the web build to work :D Try using it instead

paps says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:25am

Nice, you have the beginning of something here. Seems like a hack and slash to me. The main problem are the controls, so they make the game really hard.
And unless it is intentional it is possible to skip the combat scene (bridge or arena) but jumping over the enemies/gates, which sometimes was really useful :p.
Also you have to reload the page if you where to feel off the island.
Other than that good game :) Well done

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

The game occasionally does not detect if I am charging an attack or moving diagonally. Also it once bugged out and put the barrier up before I could cross the threshold locking me out of the enemy area.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

Hi there. Interesting look. Camera is a bit frustrating for safe movement with no edge walls, the movement doesn't stop suddenly enough to turn around - arrggh plummet etc. The combat seems a bit unbalanced, suddenly 5 or 6 things to fight and couldn't kill even one of them even with _long_ hold of mouse button. Nice music if a bit repetitive after a while. Good job overall!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

I wasn't a huge fan of the controls because the camera was stuck in one spot and it was a little weird to control at first, but once I got them down it wasn't bad. The world looks pretty on this game too!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Cool graphics and use of theme, I like how you progress in the world, but music... it ruined everything, I'm afraid. I have to turn it off to continue to play. Enemies are extremely funny. Overall it is nice game, I have a blast playing it. Please continue to exercise in FL ;) Thank you.

Vermacian says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:17pm

MintArcade:
I literally downloaded FL studio the day before the contest lol. I just had to have something running in the background but later realized i maybe shouldnt have done that at all xd

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I like the clouds around the floating islands. Should I not pull the switch at the really long bridge?

Vermacian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Scott Barker:
Its fully possible to get past them. Thought there is no point in that. I just assumed that people would pull it due to curiosity even thought there were no additional bridge needed to get to the next level. So its up to you really.

SoulGame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Feels like a impressive work but the controls are really really hard and not clear for me. I carefully read your instructions but it doesn't help to quickly face the direction I want and attack my enemies. Good point on realization tho.

George says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Awesome! You should take it further if you get the time :)

akymos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:56pm

The only flaw is the command setting, it slows playtime a little. Everything else lookd smooth and fine...great work!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]