Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connecting

by AlexDJones - Jam Entry

Waiting at London Heathrow airport for a connecting flight home, you receive a text from your partner, Sam. As you begin to talk, Sam asks you about your night out with your friend Robin, at which point the conversation becomes awkward.

Connecting is about relationships - your relationship to Sam, to Robin, and to the game text itself. As you pick responses, not only do you change the direction that the dialogue takes, but you also retroactively change the context of the conversation because the game doesn't impose a canon on the player. Maybe you confess an indiscretion to Sam, or you lie about it, or maybe there never was one and Sam's questions are unfair.

Written and programmed by Alex D. Jones with art by Sandy Gardner. Made using Game Maker Studio, Photoshop CS2 and bfxr.

Unfortunately this is only available for Windows. Apparently Chrome gets ornery about the .zip download, so I've added an itch.io link which sometimes fixes that problem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Humor(Jam)3.50
#201Mood(Jam)3.43
#253Innovation(Jam)3.26
#312Overall(Jam)3.32
#401Audio(Jam)3.00
#423Theme(Jam)3.08
#499Fun(Jam)2.83
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Original game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Pretty Cool :)

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

I enjoyed this game :D I found it very interesting how the replies are actually on point with if this was a real conversation. This reminds me of a game I wanted to make, but never got to it. The only thing I would add would be the whole flight conversation all the way until you get there, or at least one more conversation. And maybe let the user see the result of their conversation, whether Robin and you break up, go to Robins house, etc; The background music really fit the game as well. Well done! :D

nothke says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Hay! Chrome is reporting both the .exe and the .zip as malicious!? I can unpack it though when I go to downloads and say I accept the collateral damage of opening the malicious file xD

nothke says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Interesting game, would love to have much more dialogues and some randomness. It would be interesting to have a clock until the flight is leaving and you need to finish the conversation (properly) before you leave so you have to do it quickly (I know it might not be the point of the game). Maybe even have missing the flight have consequences.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Really good idea! Love it, as other people are telling you, it would be nice to see the result of the conversation, or have more dialogue lines. Also really loved the concept of keeping you the secret and dodging the awkward questions, instead of find what your couple is hiding. One last thing, it took me a long to realize the player is a boy, at first i think i was the gf xD Well, Sam is a weird name. Other avatars (more realistic) or names should fix it. Nice entry!

foolmoron says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I played a bunch of times to see all the paths. Nice writing!

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Clever use of gender neutral names - great writing!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Liked the take on theme, fun and original!!

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Very cool! Kinda reminds me of the game we made for this jam!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

(Phil here) Cleverly written, interesting little game. It was fun while it lasted, but I felt like the endings I got weren't so much endings. I feel they left too much unsaid, if that makes any sense.

Cool design though, keep it up!

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:47am

Pretty interesting game, the dialogues feels genuine, would be nice to see the result of the conversation as an ending rather than having the same endings for different paths.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

Hilarious, loved it. Really well written and the response choices were great.

Snoother says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:24pm

A really cute and engaging conversation game, one that feels almost tangibly real -- I could very much believe the characters and the style of texting. Plus the graphics lend well to believability.

I like the uncertainty of this kind of narrative. You are entering a conversation that is only a fragment of a person's life -- you have to piece together what has happened, and afterwords you are not sure what will happen. All you know is that fragment, that moment of time. I like that a lot as a gameplay and narrative device. So, contrary to some others, I don't really want a conclusion rounding everything up -- that's boring to me. The uncertainty is what leaves it lingering in my mind, and it's what makes me want to replay and ponder.

What I maybe would have liked is for the conversation itself to be a bit more extensive and last for longer. It felt a bit too brief for a conversation that could dramatically affect their relationship. But maybe people are terser in text messages than me? And, of course, you're limited in what you can do in 72 hours, which I wholly understand.

Oh, and the background audio sounds -- the crowds and muffled chitter-chatter -- upped the immersion too.

Someone else mentioned the possibility of missing the flight if you got too involved in the conversation or something? I thought that was an interesting idea to consider -- not sure if it would work, but there's something there, I think.

Anyway, overall it gets top marks -- nice work!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:14am

The game is black for me. Quite disappointing.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:38am

Good job on writing! I tried a bunch of dialogue paths and the conversation felt very real. The concept is really interesting. Solid entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]