Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Are Bactera

by w84death - 48 Hour Compo Entry

# About

It's a connection between the player, the cellular automaton Conway's Game of Life and a world of a simple bacteria.

Don't know what the Game of Life is?
Read about it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conway's_Game_of_Life

== This is a zero-player game. This is not a causal game for kids, it's casual game for geeks :) ==

# Rules:

* Each bacterium has it's own "brain".

* The brain is a simple simulation of Conway's Game of Life

* Player can modify it by adding active cells. Player can add 10 cells at the beginning. Each 10 game cycles is given another cell.

* In the brain if active cells extends 45% the bacterium will multiply - new bacterium will show.

* If the brain has no active cells bacterium dies.

* The "movement" of cells in brain cause movement of the bacterium. So if there is no movement the bacterium will stand still.

Have fun :)


# Tools used:
- Pyxel Edit
- SublimeText
- GitHub (more like service not tool)


More games: http://p1x.in
Follow me @w84death


<3 Make indie games not war!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#133Innovation3.80
#251Graphics3.62
#596Mood2.94
#618Overall3.15
#630Humor2.22
#720Audio2.39
#966Fun2.55
#1009Theme2.46

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I could not play the game, it did not loaded to me, but the graphics by the pictures got my attention.

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Little but hard to understand and i am not sure how this connects with the theme

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Game of life within game of life... Life-ception. I Like it :)

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Great concept! Love the use of a game within a game. Well polished, nice sounds interesting idea. I'm betting this will easily make it into the top 100 ;)
Not too sure how to win, if there is a way but the idea and the idea behind the AI is great and so original. Love it.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Highest score in inovation I gave during this LD!

Riocide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Cool little game. Playing is a bit strange, even if you know the ruleset of conways game of life. But it was a nice and novel way of approaching the theme. Well done!

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Pretty cool. I feel like there could be quite a deep level of depth here to play if I put more time into it. Very nice :D

PunyOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice graphics - I was missing a gameplay element a bit, but I like simulations and this one was nice to look at :).

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

This was surprisingly fun!
The graphics suit the gameplay very well.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

An intriguing little simulation. Not sure what aim it has, if any (does that make it a toy rather than a game?), but still fun to play around with.

One thing worth saying, though, since it was annoying me - "bacterium" is the singular of "bacteria". One bacterium, two bacteria. Not "a bacteria", not "bacterias". (Sorry for being a pedant!)

dhargan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:14pm

kinda hard to understand to play even if you understand the rules.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

This is really cool.
Quick to pick up and play.
The sounds are simple but fit perfectly.
And the graphics, same there.

Some notes: When placing cells in a brain, I wish the spot I'm pointing at would be highlighted, because sometimes I was sure I'd place a cell in one spot only to have the cell end up next to it instead.

And maybe newly placed cells should be allowed to be removed (consider them 'committed' after one turn/only while paused) in case you misclick or change your mind.

Overall though, 4/5.

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Nice idea, I like it. Could be more interesting though - I think it could use to have some obstacles? Enemies? Because losing all bacteria is kind of impossible.

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

PTSnoop: thanks for clarification. English is not my main language. I will hotfix the translation.

Steve: you're right! I will add this feature for misclick (after the compo)

Thanks You all for the kind words. I was afraid that no one will understand how this game works :)

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Very interesting concept taking Game of Life to the next level.

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Interesting game within a game!

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Nice graphics, but I didn't get how to play it :/

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26pm

All the people who don know how to play: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conway's_Game_of_Life

You MUST known what the Conway's Game of Life is. This is not a causal game for kids, it's casual game for geeks :D

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Nice little "life" simulation. Description fits this game perfectly (casual game for geeks :D

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great approach on the theme

Arowx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Liked it great idea. Do the bacteria next to each other join up in the game of life so the meta picture of bacteria is simply a zoomed out view of the game of life?

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Didn't quite get what I was controlling, and not being able to take away brain points (at least I don't think?) made it hard for me to make desired shapes, but otherwise pretty darn interesting!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Cool concept with programmable game of life, but I'm sorry, to complicated mechanics for me to enjoy it. Graphics and sound effects are nice though! Also the theme relation seems a bit far-fetched

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Arowx: I was thinking of that but don't have enough time. And It would not work because the "brain" part is what moves/kills/borns new bacterias.

But You can think of it as You are the next layer. It all the bacterias dies You will loose. You must take care of them to maintain alive.

phi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41pm

You already won me when I saw that this game was about Conway's Game of Life. I love watching stuff evolve, and this is quite fun. However, I have some points of criticism:

-The tutorial is good but too long and extensive.
-The play/pause button is inverted, which is mildly irritating.
-Sometimes, it gets stuck or repetitive quite fast.
-The font is not pixelated.
-Reading the title I assume you chose the plural form of "bacterium" on purpose to tell me that I'm not alone, now I'm slightly creeped out.

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:47pm

It is good idea, not very well connected to the theme though. Good job anyway

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:50pm

phi: Yes the tutorial part was done in the last hours and it's lacking the "skip" button. Well can't change that now.

With the font it's the same story: to little time, I don't have the engine for pixel art text - this is in my to do list for this game engine (it will be used in some other hackathon games)

Overall thanks for criticism. I would like to change all of this after the judging is done.

p.s. Yes, the bacteria is the third layer ( game of life -> bactrium -> player ) as we all have in our bodies thousands of (good nad bad) bacteria. We will die shortly withou them (the good ones for sure).

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

renatopp: I think it is but that's the "problem" with interpreting art - anyone have their own version.

I was trying to thing out side the box: connecting "worlds" as computer science (cellular automation), biology (bacteria) and the player (play/live as long as he take care of the bacteria).

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice it's like Game of Life simulation :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Really awesome idea, I love conway's game of life. I didn't really managed to do anything, but with some work it could make a really interesting game. Amazing job !

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36pm

a realy nice game based on Conway's Game of Life, I Love Math in games

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:42pm

It's like Game of Life Inception here :p Tricky but interesting idea. Utterly forgot the rules of Game of Life but still managed to produce a good chunk of Bacteria before they all died :p

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53am

Concept is looking interesting but kinda strange and something weird.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Really good game. Nice graphics. Nice music. Your pixelart is awesome.

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Great idea. Graphics are really good. A little too little interaction, but great concept.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19am

Brilliant game! Really enjoyed watching the evolution of bacteria!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Smart idea!

ripter says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

interesting idea- did not understand how the two scales of action are related. If the goal is infinite survival, one should be able to input a simple methuselah pattern and do well. maybe you could provide stamps for glider shapes and have a demolition derby?

runvs says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:24am

Hi there, nice idea to create a second order game of life! Some background music would have been nice as well as a "one step" function.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Very interesting idea!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:14am

Very neat that you turned the game of life into more of a real game. :P Nice entry. :)

DSalles says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:50am

Mesmerizing. Not entirely sure what is happening but enjoyed it anyway.

twintrite says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Not my type of game but a cool idea and nice style.

swistakm says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Very innovative game. For geeks indeed.
I found a gamebreaker:
http://i.imgur.com/xYwcrSm.png

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:25am

Interesting game that could do with a slightly deeper tutorial to tell you how to get the bacteria to move without needing to read up on a subject on Wikipedia. Seems like it could be a fun little casual game for mobiles.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:37am

Great great great idea! I love all things with a life of their own, great how you took the game of life and made it work like this!

mechabit says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:35pm

nice game within a game theme. could have done with more gamey mechanics like rival bacteria or target to reach like some animal's throat cells, maybe enemy white blood cells. Maybe some evolution upgrades like bigger game of life play area.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Cool implementation of the theme, makes for a nice toy to pass the time with! The game froze for me after playing for a while though, don't know what caused it as I wasn't doing anything special.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]