Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Tale Of Words

by Njord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Troubleshooting : for Web version, it seems going to another browser tab while loading the game makes the Unity player lose focus and not take clicks anymore. Just wait for the game to load ! Same thing with all Unity-web games apparently.)

I am inviting you to embark on an epic journey in the fantastic world of the Kindgom of Word. You will meet Kings and Queens, Knights and Assassins, and even mighty Dragons or scary Witches ...

A Tale Of Words is a game where you connect words (yes, I took that "L" off the LD30 theme ! I didn't like him very much).

The goal of the game is to reveal and combine tiles on a randomly generated Memory-like board. You must claim all tiles in a finite number of actions in order to win. On each tile is a specific Word, and each pair of Words yields a unique and exciting combinaison with its own little story and its awesome (or devastating effects). Learn all the combinaisons and master the destiny of the Kingdom of Word !

This is my very first Ludum Dare, and I'm rather happy with the result, given the goals I had set for myself. I hope A Tale Of Words will provide you with a good challenge and some laughs (you'll understand).

Thank you for playing !

Njord out.

Note : this was developped using Unity, so you will require the web Unity-plugin for the web version. It should install automatically though. Standalone version requires no install.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Humor4.24
#87Fun3.77
#93Audio3.64
#174Mood3.48
#198Innovation3.65
#263Overall3.51
#676Graphics2.92
#877Theme2.73

Comments

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44am

Great idea, very funny and entertaining. I LOLed at the first "Fus ro dah" xD The web version does not register the button clicks, I had to download the standalone. You might want to take a look.

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

Really polished and fun :D Loved the sounds.

LPeter1997 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

It's a different approach. Absolutely fun! And the sounds are hillarious.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

Love the creative interpretation of the theme.
Humorous and cute gameplay and sound.
Clever spin on Memory - you're not just remembering the cards, you're remembering the interactions between different types of card too.
I can't really find any fault in it. Nothing huge and ambitious, just a well-produced, neat spin on a classic.
My only objection is that I seemed to lose every round due to a Dragon card spawning at the last moment...?

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

@hungyg : hmm web works fine I think, you might just have lost the focus on the Unity window, does that sometimes ! Reloading does the trick I guess :)

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05am

@wolfmother : probably really bad luck on last round dragon spawns ! Or you just didn't get rid of the annoying cards early enough ;)

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Cool and fun game special the sounds :)

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:10am

HAHAHA love the sound, remind me naeulbuck!

Schoubi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:49am

Funny game :)
Sounds are ... lol ^^

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Very Funny!
I love try different possibilities, and the voice is a really great narrator.
Good game :D

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Great voice. Got me to laugh out loud which blows my mind. Interesting twist on the classic Concentration/Memory card game. I'm impressed, I'll be looking at your code later on to learn from it. A+

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

You and I have different definitions of the word "easy!" Challenging but fun!!

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

The sounds really made this experience fun. Assassin!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

haha I love the audio. Epic Dragon Quest!
That must have taken a while to connect all of possibilities together. Really neat concept.

hypp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Very good. Nice sound effects!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17am

This is a very interesting game cant say much for the take on the theme though. I enjoyed the stories that I made out of this.

monsterkillu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Fantastic sound effects .. hilarious ... But just confused about what goes with what :)

PinkNinja says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Fun to play. Very original indeed :) I was just playing over and over again to try new things :) Congrats

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I got a lot of fun playtime with this game! It's my fav so far, epic work, well done! 16/10 :D

chongdashu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26pm

This was good fun! Made me laugh. The audio is hilarious!

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Amazing sounds! Really fun trying to trigger all of the different connections. Great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Really funny! I loved the voices and the sound effects! I'd love to see more tiles/interactions! But yeah, this is a really polished and complete game!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Fun and funny!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

A cute way to get around your nonexistent graphic skills, I guess. It's very, very funny. My only problem is that I wish there was an in-game way to understand what did what-- I thought Sword + Assassin would kill the Assassin, but it stole the sword and ran off...?

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

A cute and fun game :) nice job

Njord says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35pm

@Thingo Studios : you got me, i can't draw ! :p And about combinations, some are easy to guess (like town+earthquake), some are meant to be surprising just to be annoying I guess ;). I considered adding a sort of ingame encyclopedia though, so you'd have a way to remember the combos you already did. Time decided against it in the end.

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:35pm

A fun tile based create your own adventure. Fresh take on the classic matching games

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

hahahah

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I love the sound effects.

waynaul says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:33pm

This is the most humorous game I've played so far. I enjoyed seeing the result of combinations of words.

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I am so in love with this idea: the dynamic story-telling aspect is just perfect. Simple but so fun. And the voice-over really brought a lot of life to what would otherwise have been a too-text-heavy game. Excellent writing.

I wish there were more ways to reveal cards, since fairly often I found myself without any real choices to make.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Lovely idea, telling some kind of history while puzzling around.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:43pm

First time I've rated an LD game 5 for humor ;)

mramaizng says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:03am

This is a really fun idea. I'm not really sure how well it fits the theme, but it was fun none the less. I played for much longer than I care to admit as it was very entertaining to see all the combinations.

Everything seems to work well. I didnt find any annoying quirks. Great job!

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:09am

really cool game and i like the sounds :)

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:49am

It has a simple humor, but the game is realy enjoyable. I could not slay the dragon unfortunately, but the sound effect were awesome! Also: you missred the title of the theme? :D

dhargan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:49am

all cards have been vanished except king and queen. then nothing happened. except... you know. magnificant idea. really good job mate!

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:42am

Really a fun game. The sounds were hilarious, and the combinations suprising. I would have never thought that I would enjoy this kind of game! Very innovative an fun! Good job!

SoulGame says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Friends of yours told me about your game, I was eager to try it but unfortunately I have troubles installing Unity web player... I'm currently troubleshooting this issue with Unity support team. Looking forwards to play it!

Njord says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Yeah the plugin can be annoying sometimes. I guess you should just download the Windows version. And I tested your game too, was pretty awesome !! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]