Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skewer World

by tatmos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

movement: random walk
shoot: any Keys

Blue cylinder is the player.
The colorful balls, each of which refers to the world.
The player moves around randomly.
watched until the ball stick.
Ball to stick. And press any key.
Ball is fired towards the enemy.
Cube is the enemy.
Destruction to hit the ball(world).

movie:http://youtu.be/-DlfIhqXeqk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#166Audio3.43
#273Humor2.83
#274Innovation3.53
#663Graphics2.94
#897Overall2.85
#899Mood2.57
#927Fun2.61
#1119Theme2.13
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Hey you made an amazing... er... whatever it is! Just watching the cylinder collecting the ammunition/balls is great, lovely random jerks around the place and dodging. Seems almost as though another person is controlling it, someone who has had too much coffee. Great job !

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Nice. I liked the random movement. It made it interesting to play.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Interessting concept - was fun to play!
Good job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very interesting. I like the retro-style sounds and font.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Uh what? I mean this is trippy and amusing as hell, but it seems to be playing itself except for my attack key. I "played" until 118 and then got bored. No idea how to rate this, not really sure if it's a game. Cool physics and movement though.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:44pm

A bit stange because you have no control

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

What a quirky game :) A positive experience, if short-lived and a bit shallow, haha.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:02pm

My god was that satisfying. The the theme is a stretch but it was really fun. Well done!

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Cool idea, the gameplay was really frantic and fast paced.

parahunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Interesting experience, not that great game I have to say. Giving a score for a game that is so random and where player input has so little to say does not really work.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

The audio is really good. The hit sounds were very satisfying, and the music was good. But that's about it. My best time was 45 seconds. But I think that was a glitch. If I kept holding space I would score hits over and over again.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

I don't know what I just played but it was a lot of fun! I liked the graphics effects with the streaks.

garygreen says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I enjoyed that. It was quirky. :-)

Miziziziz says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:40am

the sounds were really top notch.
Otherwise, there wasn't really much gameplay.
Also, what's the connection to the theme?

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:57am

Haha, crazy! I was struggling to figure out any tactics here, but the experience was oddly satisfying nonetheless.

hb3p8 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:14pm

crazy and fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]