Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

QOT

by eruiz00 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fast and hard shmup. Player has to switch between 3 universes, killing enemies from other universes refills energy gauges of other universes. If energy is empty, the game is over.
Kill all enemies in the 3 universes to get to the next stage.

Cursors and Z,X,C keys. Touch enabled. Web and Android version included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#239Theme3.68
#284Innovation3.52
#366Fun3.26
#402Overall3.35
#446Audio2.86
#604Mood2.93
#734Graphics2.84
#758Humor2.05

Comments

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Last weekend picked libgdx to make this game... this library is the BEST thing I have tested in years!!! Thanks gdx team!!!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Android version:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61844766/qot/quot.apk

burgerdare says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27am

really interesting idea you have here. It took me a few goes to wrap my head around the energy system, but once I understood it I had a fun time!

tanjent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00am

I got killed so hard before I understood that you had to switch worlds to shoot the other colored blobs (ouch!) - but good take on the theme :). I think the switching could be a bit easier if it was mapped, 1 key = 1 world. Also, great to see libgdx+html!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:03am

Nicely done with the 3 world mechanic, but did take me awhile to figure out how to shoot. The visuals worked really well and the different shooting styles and energy system did make it interesting.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

Hi. Graphically intense! Maxed out my poor lil' brain.

lantto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

One of my favorites so far! Innovative, fun and addicting. Finally beat level 1. :) Will give it a go on my Android tablet later. Very well done!

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43am

Quite addicting game, had a lot of fun playing it.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Good game, câmera shake is Always nice, but the controls needed to be changed for the keyboard, it is very difficult to control on the screen.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24am

Nice! I love how the background moves, and the concept is great. It plays well with good mechanics. Well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Really cool, hard, fun, original game.
Agghhh, I got game over with only 3 shapes left to kill!!!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Bugfix version update. Now gameover does apper only one time, and score panel does scale with the screen (mainly in android version...)

The Android APK: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61844766/qot/qot.apk

Ventura says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

very nice effects and interesting idea. I would like that I only lose energy if i shoot because it makes more sense to me. It was difficult to understand what happened.

Un saludo y viva los desarrolladores hispanolenses!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Ventura... that's a GREAT idea. Makes sense to me as the game seems too stressing. Maybe two modes (time mode and shoot mode) as the enemies move faster with higher stages. Thinking about. Thanks.

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Es bastante complicado manejar los 3 juegos a la vez, se me va la olla XD

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Shooting was pretty laggy for me (Safari/Mac). Otherwise nice implementation :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:28pm

So much fun, really enjoyed playing this game. My only gripe is its really hard, even on the first stage.

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Hi! your game is very cool. I invite you to try my game. Bye Bye!

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:41am

Pew! Pew! Pew! Pew! :-) Nice one.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:20am

Realy hard (also maybe I'm a bit slow, but I think it's hard to understand hot it really works ^^U I continue dying and not sure why ^^UUU), but it's not a bad thing ;) Also really smooth movements, I liked it! :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:29am

Buen trabajo! My ass was kicked so hard in this game I am still trying to find it. Quite a difficult game, having to jump from one world to the other. By the way, if you liked libgdx you should try Unity. I did my previous LD with libgdx and found Unity easier to get things done. Good work!

Linusson says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:25am

That was intense and fun. :D First round was a bit confusing but then I got the hang of it. Well done! :)

Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Fun and original. I liked how affected shooting coloured objects to energy. Good work!

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Ho I will definitely come back for more !! well done

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]