Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Imaginary World

by Eli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a normal person. Daytime you do normal stuff, but night time you enter the dream world and start to fight dragons and vampires. You can't die, it's a dream after all.

It has two parts:
Missions: You do missions and gain experience. You don't have limit for missions

Kings: You convert your XP to energy and use it to defeat a king. One must have at least 21 hp to attack a king and will lose 20 each attack. HP increases every second with a max of 100

Your progress is auto saved.
You can change your name by clicking on it, "Player" by default.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#694Humor2.13
#948Theme2.60
#1090Mood2.00
#1129Innovation2.15
#1171Overall2.31
#1174Fun1.96
#1198Graphics1.62
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:40am

Interesting concept, I want to see how it comes along

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 8:10am

Mind Blowing

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:27am

Nice take on the accumulation genre. Traditionally you start to "unfold" the game after accumulating enough - interested to see whether and how you plan on doing this.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:41am

Typically those games are hard because you have to balance different stats or your dead or so. But its only one stat currently?
Lets see what it'll look like tomorrow.

Eli says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Well, other games makes you wait for energy (or something similar) to recharge. And that takes time and you feel like playing. And you can't make any missions, they are locked. Unlocking them is something you have to do. I don't like to wait so in my game you can make any missions as many times you want. But that also makes my game to not have a point and makes it boring. Who needs virtual XP anyway?
I can lock some missions, but that won't make a difference.
Unless I come up with something to compensate that it will be boring. Originally (not only for LD) I wanted to add some fighting in night mode, like in Pokemon at least, to use there some stats and collect something else from there. And maybe a duel between players. But I wouldn't have time to make that so I skipped many things, too much, actually.
If you didn't tell me about that, I wouldn't realise it. Thanks! :)

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I made a ton of pizzas. Took some naps. Participated in LD a single time. This is more real than my real life! Except with a lot more dragon fighting.

laremere says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice start, but it lacks player motivation. I can do mission for exp, but why would I do any mission except the one which gives me most exp? Also, I spent the exp on killing, but I'm not sure what the reward for killing is? Or why they're called kings? I also don't see how changing modes affects gameplay except to offer different missions? Perhaps if they were more radically different or switched back and forth based on time?

wolfmother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:05am

Pretty famous video and I hope I don't come across as condescending by posting this, but I found this to be a great summary of why these games are interesting:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptk93AyICH0

Eli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46am

@wolfmother Nice explanation. So that happens...
THanks :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14pm

This takes me back in the day of good game design. Very nice game.

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:37am

Well this is different. Maybe better if it had more of a challenge to it, but it's not bad either.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36pm

I like the idea of the game, but there's no challenge, you're not forced into fighting the Kings, and if you do, you don't really get an actual gain out of it. I love the imagination behind the different missions, and Kings though!

Capitals says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Nice concept however it lacked progression. Otherwise It was enjoyable. It was quite a weak link to the theme.

villhest says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I like it, but I got A LOT of XP by clicking many times. Then I died.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Hmm not sure what i was doing besides getting extreme XP by fighting dragons and losing it by fighting kings.

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Hunt Dragons ALL NIGHT LONG!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]